Explain The God Thing To Me Again

As you know, my spiritual quest never seems to end. I am fascinated by the religious and nonreligious. Both sides are adamantly convinced they are right with little or no supporting evidence. It’s pretty much based on the parenting theory, “Because I said so”. And while this is no doubt a solid stance, I wish there was a little more credible debate.

The God side has a wide variety of beliefs and traditions. The general rules are a) be nice to other people b) don’t kill anyone c) try not to fornicate too much or with too many people d) give money to the church so it can continue to spread the word and e) stay away from gay people at all costs. There are some other less important rules but I think these are the main ones.

The non-God side says that there is no God and that science can pretty much answer any question you might have. They stay away from the “meaning of life” argument other than to say there is no particular meaning. We are simply part of the eco system and when we are done, we are done. While this is a sound argument, it is ultimately empty. It gives basic equal value to all living things and, while a good philosophy to live by, allows for little in the realm of the extraordinary. In short, it is boring and somewhat self condemning. Perhaps the biggest issue with these folks, however, is the “I am mentally superior to you” attitude. That’s great except some of the members of your team leave a little to be desired. Lenin, Pol Pot, Mussolini…you know who your peeps are.

My favorite part of the argument is “the beginning”. God always has been and always will be. Or, time as we know it started with the Big Bang. What was before the Big Bang? Don’t know and it doesn’t matter. Our way of measuring time is linear and not all-encompassing.  Both answers would fall in the, “I don’t have a fu**ing clue” category. To be fair, some more progressive folks on both sides actually embrace this lack of knowledge and are open to multiple possibilities.

In the end, my problem with God is that he is too passive. He seems to be off golfing or doing laundry while people of all ages, colors, and ethnicities die excruciating deaths on a daily basis. It would seem that an all-knowing, compassionate God would not torture His minions regardless of some big payoff that we as mere mortals can’t comprehend. Just let me call bullshit on that one. What entity of any form would allow a child to suffer for any reason? Doesn’t make the least bit of sense.

My issue with the no God folks is that, if they are right, life as we know it kind of sucks. We get this miniscule period of time to be on Earth and when it’s done, it’s done. While we do have free will and the ability to create, what in the hell do we have to show for it? A whole shit ton of people living an amazingly impoverished and ignorant life. Not always by their choosing; simply by the luck of where they were born. That’s right my Christian friends. If your dad had shot his wad in Hawaii, you would not be American. Or, if were Indonesia, you would be Muslim (Pronounced Moooo-slim).

So, from my point of view, many people hold out for what is behind door number 2. They can take the sure thing but want to hold out for much, much more. It is the lottery but with a much bigger payoff. From a “what do I have to lose” standpoint, it makes perfect sense. However, what a better world it would be if people embraced their time on Earth rather than spending copious amounts of time investing in a pipe dream. I think before I die, I will write an “I told you!” blog for each possibility. I like to have my bases covered.

6 Responses to Explain The God Thing To Me Again

  1. nonnie9999 says:

    In the end, my problem with God is that he is too passive. He seems to be off golfing […] while people of all ages, colors, and ethnicities die excruciating deaths on a daily basis.

    you’re confusing g-d with john bronzo the clown boehner.

  2. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Does the body care if skin cells slough off? Would the universe care if a gamma ray burst took out the Earth? To paraphrase Forrest Gump “meaning is as meaning does.”

    “I think before I die, I will write an “I told you!” blog for each possibility. I like to have my bases covered.”

    Welcome to the world of quantum mechanics, TL!! Like religion, we’ll just have to figure out which version is the ‘correct one.’

  3. tannerleah says:

    Quantum mechanics? Wow, now I feel all smart and stuff.

  4. I’m nonreligious. I think more blood has been spilled over religion more than any other thing in the world. And it’s hard being a nonreligious sista. Other black folks think I’m the fucking chick from the exorcist. LOL! I love the classic responses, “Oh Lord Jesus please help her,” or “Imma pray for you.”

    • tannerleah says:

      You are not religous? Oh, help me Jesus. If you say you can’t dance either, then Rev Sharpton is coming to your house to take the race card away from you.

Leave a Reply

