My Man, Kanye…Keeping It Real.

As you probably have heard by now, Kanye got up onstage after some skinny country chick won the MTV best video award. With righteous indignation, Kanye merely pointed out that Beyonce should have won the award. 

What part of this is a problem? Did you really want to hear this no-name country hick give praise to Jesus and her momma and poppa? Who cares what she has to say or what she thinks. Kanye speaks for the entire free world. Basically, it’s his job. 

Some have suggested that K just wanted to get some publicity because his album sales have been less than inspiring lately. This is patently ridiculous. Kanye is at the top of the entertainment world now that Michael is dead. He doesn’t need any publicity because his extraordinary talent speaks for itself. 

Keep in mind; this is the genius that wrote these beautiful lyrics: 

Ahh… The sweet taste of victory
Go head and breath it in like antihistamine 
 

Bob Dylan who? That is the stuff of legends (and I don’t mean that creepy John Legend who always seems to be having a party in his pants). Has anyone ever in the history of music rhymed “antihistamine”? I thought not. 

Predictably, other “stars” had something to say about Kanye’s speech. First, there was Pink. You remember her, don’t you? She is the he/she that was famous for about 10 minutes in the 90’s. I don’t know what she said and I don’t care. 

Next up was Kelly Clarkson. She wrote something on her website about Kanye. I am not surprised she wrote it because she couldn’t speak since her mouth is usually full of donuts and PBR. Go back to Texas you freakin’ hillbilly. 

Also not surprising is that most of the people criticizing K are white. I guess they figure that it’s bad enough that they already have to listen to one black man (Obama) and that two is just unacceptable. This is straight profiling and yet another example of the man holding a brother down.   

In an interesting twist, Kanye was going to snatch the microphone from Obama during his speech to the country but that white dude from South Carolina messed up his timing. K hopes to interrupt Jerry Lewis next year and ask why the black man is not represented by neuro muscular diseases. 

All I can say is keep it real my brother. Where there is a microphone and injustice, know that Kanye will be there. 

(Here is a picture of Kanye before he overcame blindness. What a hero).

37 Responses to My Man, Kanye…Keeping It Real.

  1. Finally, somebody who feels the same way as I did about Kanye West. http://ahmnodtheare.wordpress.com/2009/09/14/kanye-west-is-my-hero/

  2. art vandelay says:

    I suppose I’m racist because I find Serena William’s behavior appalling at the US Open.

  3. After all this isn’t the first time…shouldn’t award shows know to put extra security on Kanye so he can’t bum rush the stage again.

  4. bschooled says:

    How does someone who DJ’s with a Crosley portable record player know the lyrics to a Kanye West song?

    ps. Is “pants” your safety word by chance?

    I’d hate to know that I’ve been enjoying your posts all this time, only to discover they were actually a cry for help…

    • tannerleah says:

      Obviously, because I am occasionally black. That keeps me in tune with all of the latest hip hop stuff.

      Pants is not my safe word…I use “trousers” instead. Oh look! There goes another party in my pants!

  5. […] MTV Video Music Awards and dissing her saying that Beyonce should have won.  MTV, Huffington Post, TannerLeah, FrigginLoon and The Star Celeb are all saying their piece on […]

  6. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I like my version better:

    “Ahh…the sweet taste of Listerine
    Go head and breathe it in like antihistamine”

    I have to say that K is looking rather dapper with that black silk logo print Louis Vuitton scarf gingerly knotted around his neck (someone should attach a dog leash to it and reel him in). K looks smart…and sounds like an petulant child.

  7. nonnie9999 says:

    it could have been a lot worse. he could have jumped on stage and said that taylor swift hates black people just like george w. bush does.

  8. Donald Mills says:

    I’ll start listening when he starting rhyming something with Metamucil…

    Funny post TL.

  9. yorksnbeans says:

    I think I’m going with the “staged” angle.

  10. nursemyra says:

    Did you see the South Park episode that made fun of Kanye’s inability to get the fish sticks joke?

  11. Well, enough with Beyonce and Kanye. What does Solange have to say about this?

    “@JGmakeupxoxo saw a mouse in the airport. Great. Chicago here we come.”

    Wunderbar! Truly a credit to her field, whatever the hell that is.

    For more breaking news, follow this twit at:
    http://twitter.com/solangeKnowles

    • elizabeth3hersh says:

      Capitalist, you know I love you, but what the hell are you talking about? This is almost as bad as that dangling “from”…I want (demand) more!

      • elizabeth3hersh says:

        I didn’t want to do it (I’m in a real slump), but I googled Solange Knowles and now I am ‘in the know’. I still want you to finish your “from”…

        P.S. Creeping migraines are preventing me from getting my usual dose of caffeine…somehow, I know you can relate.

      • You know, I don’t remember. I think I had something, was distracted by something somewhere else in the house and returned to click “submit.”

        Let’s see if I can whip something up on the spot:

        “From the good people at Pepsi-Cola Corporation, who want you to know that whereever you are and whoever you’re doing, nothing refreshes and clears the conscience like an ice-cold Pepsi, MTN Dew or Fresca.

        Try any of our several new flavors, including the one that is just the other ones mixed together, or the one that is just the ‘sluice’ that runs off during the first spin cycle, or even the one that is just Diet Pepsi with more carcinogens. You won’t not regret it.”

  12. kanye west needs to shut up, choke on his food and die. you see i’m kind of black and feel as though i can speak for the 50% of blackness i am and say that we as kind of black people want to bust a cap in his ass. i mean this past week must of been “act a fool” week or something. Because people were just showing they asses off. i swear if he does something crazy like this again, i just might have to hunt him down like a 007 agent and break the plate in his face so he can never speak ever..ever..again. btw..i do think that beyonce should of won, but for goodness sake can we get out of beyonce’s ass and give someone else a chance to get some fame..i’m just saying..we know she is talented and should of won every award, but that would be unfair, and then white people would be complaining about that…to keep it even we let the skinny white chick win something…
    also..Pink is awesome..no matter what. k?

  13. Archambault says:

    Or, I'll shove my catheter
    right up your sphincter.
    So lay off my Metamucil
    or you'll be needing Advil.

    (Bqrt, you da man!);

  14. Squirrel says:

    A. I think you should read up on Pink, because you guys actually have the horrible childhood thing in common so don’t be mean. B. Kanye is a tool and should be on Tool Academy for sure. We all heard how horrible he truly is on SNL. C. I miss home. I can’t wait to come back. D. KELLY IS MY GIRL. Last time I checked you are loving the food A LOT right now, so you’re the pot calling the kettle black. :]

Leave a Reply

