The Book Is Finally Finished

For any of you still lurking around here, my book (Booze, Baptists, and Bedlam), which has been stuck in neutral for some time, is finished. You can order it at the link below for the amazing price of $12.56. (Shipping, on the other hand, is ridiculous. I think in several more weeks it will be available on Amazon which should have a much cheaper shipping cost).

 http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/booze-baptists-and-bedlam/6731697

But wait, there’s more! (Ok, not really. I just thought I should try to make it sound more exciting.)

Here are some early reviews of the book…

” Am I ever going to get my money back on this deal? ” – Frank

” If I knew you were going to write this crap, I would have beat you even harder. Love, Dad ”

” I would have beat you too. By the way, can you sing and dance? I have a new record label that is going to be the shizzle. Oh, and I am still sad about Mike.” – Joe Jackson

” I can’t wait to be with you. I dumped the job and Todd is next.” – Sarah Palin

” Seriously…where the fu** is my money? ”  – Frank

Pretty awesome reviews, no? For those of you who would prefer a free, electronic copy, just e-mail me and I will send you the PDF version.

I miss you guys and gals but still have no desire to return to the fold…at least for the time being. TL

EDIT: I posted the complete book on the Booze, Baptists, and Bedlam tab. (I couldn’t figure out how to post it as a PDF. The formatting is probably off but it’s close enough.) Now, you can order the book or just read it here if you are so inclined. Personally, I wouldn’t take my laptop into the toilet with me but I won’t judge you.

22 Responses to The Book Is Finally Finished

  1. yorksnbeans says:

    I’m feelin the love TL!! I knew you wouldn’t totally leave us out here in the blogosphere of darkness without hearing from you from time to time.

    Now, have there been any changes, edits or additions in this final edition vs. the one you let us take a peek at a few weeks ago?

    I’ll take 1 copy for now, but will probably order several more, the closer it comes to the holidays! 🙂

    You should be ecstatic about those first reviews, except for Frank’s….Idiot. Your Dad signing it “Love” must have brought a tear or two for sure. 😉

    • tannerleah says:

      HI YnB – I actually miss being here but not enough to come back just yet. I think everyone that has written a blog understands that we all need to take a break now and then. This is mine.

      No changes to what I shared…just more chapters. Mrs. Tannerleah called me a whore for posting the link to it. I advised her, again, that I view being called a whore a compliment so, if she was aiming for something else, she completely missed the mark.

      And yes, “Dad” certainly has a way of bringing the tears out.

  2. Congratulations! Do you have a marketing plan? Besides us?

    I don’t have any formal reviewing credentials, but if you want one, I’d be happy to read it and write one for you.

    • tannerleah says:

      No, no marketing plan. This was meant to be a project for my children. I only shared some of the stories because several people asked me to. I have no desire to make money on the book or seek affirmation as a “real” writer.

      Having said that, I am always happy to get feedback on my work. It’s why we are all here, isn’t it? Thank you for the offer…very kind of you. TL

  3. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I ordered two copies…it will be more fun to read than the PDF version. I hope you get rejuvenated soon and can get back to your acerbic witticisms which we have all grown so fond of.

    • tannerleah says:

      First, thank my niece for the birthday poem. It was excellent!

      I hope to be back soon…I really do. I hate that this comes across as some sort of personality crisis or drama queen experience but I just felt like I needed a break. It’s not so much writer’s block as it is writer’s fatigue. Anyway, thanks for the continued support.

  4. Congrats! I’ll come out for the book tour.

  5. Aces n Eights says:

    Congrats on finishing the book! I will always remember the first book I finished, it took me 6 years to finish reading that damn thing.

    I’ll be ordering a few of these…they will make nice gifts.

  6. So, TL, do you get a cut if I buy it? Because I have a Kindle and I’d rather bring that into the can with me than buy another book and have to find room on my shelves among all the Clive Fucking Cussler books. But if you get kickbacks, I’ll buy a copy. Fuck the trees anyway, right?
    Drop in any time, TL. You are missed.

    • tannerleah says:

      BKT – This is a non-profit venture. I would put it on Kindle but don’t have that kind of tech knowledge. Just read the whole thing on the Interweb for free!!!

  7. Michael says:

    Way to write a book dude!

  8. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I received my books in the mail today…can’t wait to read them!!

    • tannerleah says:

      Thank you for the support. I don’t know how to tell you this but each book is the same. Feel free to read “them” but the second one will probably have less suspense for you.

  9. kevin john says:

    I will @ once order 50 copies for all the friends in my church.
    It is absolutely guaranteed that you will be a millionaire within 6 months.

    I want you to buy me a boat.
    A boat would be nice.

  10. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I finished the book (both of them!!). You are to be commended for your ability to almost effortlessly juxtapose the humorous with the horrific. Some passages made me wince, others, smile. The pathos was so thick at times you could cut it with a knife, yet, it is abundantly clear that you were not writing in a deliberately emotive fashion. Rather, you stated the facts and allowed us to accompany you on your journey through childhood. Ultimately, there is forgiveness of loved ones and redemption in your story (you did turn out rather nicely). As a mother, I realize every child needs a ‘Ms. Dobbins’ and from your book, I also realized we have small opportunities throughout our lives to BE a Mr. or Ms. Dobbins to a young boy or girl who needs a touch of kindness or perhaps rescuing. What your readers will not know is that the book is only the tip of a memory iceberg. There is much, much more to your story.

    By the way, the cover is brilliant.

    • tannerleah says:

      Thank you, Liz. I was hoping you would not be disappointed by my decision not to write from pain but more as a historian…of sorts.

      The story that REALLY needs to be written is yours. I hope you choose to do so someday. (Or have one of your brilliant daughters do it for you).

      Thanks again for the kind words. TL

Leave a Reply

