Another Reason Facebook is Evil

Meet Indiana state trooper Chris Pestow. Pestow has a Facebook page and loaded the following photos on it. He seems to have an interesting life and no doubt wants to share it will all of the fans of state troopers out there. All was right with the world and then something changed. See if you can figure out where things went wrong:

chris-pestow

So far, so good. A fine looking officer. All serious and professional looking.

andrew-deddish

Here is Chris’ buddy, Officer Andrew Deddish. Seems like a nice enough guy. Looks like an awkward stance, however. Wait…what is he holding in his hand?

pestow-and-deddish

Oops. This one is not going to go over so well. Something about one cop holding a gun to another cops head (while holding a beverage) that could potentially get someone in trouble. In this case, it is both of these fine officers.

Deddish is on the hook for pointing the gun. Apparently, there is some sort of rule against this. Chris is in trouble for “Facebooking” while he was at work. He has several entries timed and dated when he was on duty. I guess they expect troopers not to have a social life. What can it hurt to tell a few jokes on Facebook while you are in the middle of a high speed pursuit?

I think the punishment, if they are guilty, should be ordering them to write  daily blogs. Then they would see what real pressure is. Before you know it they will be making up fake medical conditions or “new” products for consumers to use. Who knows what depths you they will be forced to sink to. (Can I just say, unless you are Hunter S Thompson, the gun is probably a bit much).

So let me say again for the umpteenth time…stop with the Twittering and Facebook! You are dying a slow and painful death. Get away from your computer and enjoy your life! It’s too late for me and some of the others around here but we had our chances. But this damned narcotic known as “blogging” is just too strong. Every time I think I am out, it pulls me back in. Don’t be your keyboards bitch. (Mine looks like Lynda Carter so it is easier for me to take).

Good luck on your Facebook pages fellas. Something tells me you might have a surplus of free time soon. Maybe you could start a blog? There is always room here in hell on the Internet.

17 Responses to Another Reason Facebook is Evil

  1. womaninblack says:

    If you are talking about my fake medical conditions TL, I will have you know that they are all lodged with the local health authority. I’m getting a medal soon (or a carriage clock – the negotiations are still ongoing)for personal services to the pharmaceutical industry.
    Personally, I think it’s a crime to wear that stupid trooper hat in the first picture. Then again, I am an awesome fashion icon, so perhaps I’m a harsh judge.

    • tannerleah says:

      I apologize for doubting the veracity of your medical claims. But you have to admit, you are one unlucky lady.

      And, yes, you are too harsh. He is required to wear the hat to hide the bad haircut they made him get.

  2. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I will only join blog-a-non if I can do it online.

  3. Ram Venkatararam says:

    I wonder if they went on to do any shots of each other wearing handcuffs? Using the billy clubs? Probably, but I guess they didn’t want to facebook that.

    You’re a funny man Tannerleah. I’m glad it’s too late for you…

    • tannerleah says:

      Leave it to you to go that route, Ram. I try to keep it mature and you come waltzing in lowering the bar. (Who do you think is the catcher in that relationship?)

      As to your second point, the feeling is mutual. (fist bump).

  4. Must…get…help…soon

  5. nursemyra says:

    a friend of mine once had the good fortune to interview Hunter S Thompson. and she got out alive afterwards 🙂

  6. womaninblack says:

    As I type (and it is only 11.37am, so there is yet time) I am enjoying rude health. Obviously I am still insane, but I’ve learnt to live with that condition (and, indeed, make a living from that condition).

    • tannerleah says:

      It is that insane-ness that makes you so wonderful. (And I don’t know what “rude health” means. I have told you several times now to speak AMERICAN english…not British english. At least you didn’t say “ruoude” health.)

  7. Won’t go the twitter route. It’s like updating me on what you are doing on facebook or linkedin. Do I really care that you have a toothache or are packing for your trip to see granma?

  8. squirrel says:

    Facebook would be okay if people like this wouldn’t be so stupid. I’ve left the facebook scene and haven’t been back and don’t plan on it. I don’t miss it and when that day comes when I have to get a real job I don’t want my employer looking through all of my pictures. Privacy? Guess the world doesn’t really want anything to be private anymore.

  9. […] In fairness, plenty of defense attorney’s will also make discoverable private facebook, twitter, etc. profiles also. So just because you are friends only, don’t lull into thinking your comments on a page you “like” can’t be used, or even what you post behind that friends only wall. Last thing we need is a re-do of that ISP Trooper. […]

Leave a Reply

