Jade Goody Is A Celebrity Why?

I get that she was on the Big Brother show in England and that she was a bit of a media sensation for her comments. But other than this unimportant frivolity, why should I care about her?

Oh, she is dying of cancer. I get it. So all of the money she is collecting for her son is done so in a noble manner. I read that the photos for her wedding alone were worth $1.5 million. Do you think that will be enough to get her son into college?

Maybe it is because she is bringing awareness to cervical cancer. While this is no doubt a good cause, the manufacturers of Gardasil are already spending millions and millions of dollars to drive this message home. Of course, like Goody, I am sure they are doing it out of the kindness of their hearts.

In the meantime while all of this celebrity worshipping is going on, 12 women in the United Sates will die from cervical cancer TODAY. Will you be sending their families money? Will the media be tracking their every last moment? Will they all get to be pseudo celebrities? No…they will die in relative anonymity.

So what is my problem with Jade? Actually, I don’t have a problem with her specifically. In fact, before today, I had never heard of her. Do I begrudge squeezing blood money out of her situation? Not at all. No, my beef is with the media and lemmings that hero worship someone that, before her disease, seemed quite disposable.

Why does having a deadly disease suddenly make any person better? Because they are facing death and realize what a douche bag they have been all of their lives? This is somehow noble? I think not. While it is tragic when a person is diagnosed with a life threatening disease, it happens all around us everyday. Any of you headed to a hospital or elderly care home to shed a tear with those people? Didn’t think so.

So please, spare me the last minute theatrics and martyrdom of these people. When my nephew died as a child form CF, he didn’t get money for it, a parade, or even a TV show. He and his family suffered in quiet dignity until the bitter end.

My point is that this is happening everyday all around you! If it matters to you, do something about it! Not after you are afflicted and have “skin in the game” but before you are ever pushed into that corner. Think about all of the people with incredible personal and financial burdens that also are dying from cervical cancer. Do you think Jade’s story makes them feel better? Or do you think they are hurt by the hypocrisy and randomness of kindness and generosity.

Stop worrying about people that you will never know and look around you. You are surrounded by people looking for your nurturing, care, and love. Make a difference today.

TL

P.S. This is a case of do as I say, not as I do. I have failed too many people in my life to be considered any kind of measuring stick. Call that an excuse if you will but if everyone was like me, on most days, this would be a brutal and ugly world to live in. Try to aim a little higher.

17 Responses to Jade Goody Is A Celebrity Why?

  1. womaninblack says:

    Aw TL, don’t beat yourself up. We can all be better people. Well, apart from me, I am already as awesome as a human can be.
    As for Jade, at my surgery they reckon that ‘the Goody effect’ has led to a 30 per cent rise in cervical checks. Which shows that however irrelevant you are – and she is, largely – you can make a difference.
    Even I’ve booked in for one. And I enjoy them as much as brushing my teeth with a hot soldering iron.

  2. Aces n Eights says:

    So Jane Goody is now the “face” of cervical cancer. I suppose this is the same as when Terri Sciavo became the face for human euthanasia, or recently when Travis The Chimp became the face of monkey husbands in monkey/human marriages. I get it.

    I just hope when they get around to annointing a face for nymphomania, it looks like Jennifer Aniston or Adriana Lima. I mean, throw a guy a bone here will ya?

  3. CSE/Olevel says:

    Thank you, you put my random thoughts in to very eloquent words!

  4. squirrel says:

    cse??? what does cse mean??? did she graduate at this place?? haha mucho love … sorry dad can’t only be made fun of I need to spread it out.

  5. jed says:

    what a idiot guy

  6. Aces n Eights says:

    Nah….you no idiot guy. Maybe he a idiot guy, but no you.

  7. squirrel says:

    Haha … crazy super excellent … you’re funny. jk.

  8. squirrel says:

    JUST KIDDING. Get with the times old man. You a idiot guy.

    • tannerleah says:

      squirrel – Stop calling my readers “old” and “idiots”. While it may be true, it is not polite to say in public. (You should mock them behind their back. That is the American way.)

Leave a Reply

