Obama Looks Like A Dead Monkey?

Do me a favor. Look at this cartoon out of the New York Post:

obama-the-monkey

What is the first thing you think of when you see that cartoon? Two things immediately popped into my mind. First, both of those cops need to get nose jobs. Seriously, how can they even carry those things around without hurting their necks everyday? The second thing I thought was, “Damn, that guy is a pretty good shot”. Sure, it was at close range but I bet the monkey was acting all…well…apesh**!

Basically, every media whore personality, jumped on the fact that the monkey was meant to portray Obama. Now you know that I, being an occasional black person, do not condone any kind of racial bigotry. (Ok, I do have an issue with Eskimos). But besides the nose rubbers, I am the first to stand up for what is right when it comes to these matters. And so, the truth is the first thing I thought of when I saw this was that even an idiot monkey could write that piece of crap bailout bill.

That’s the honest to Jehovah truth. It wasn’t until I was surfing later that I read the comments of the Honorable Rev. Al Sharpton. Reverend Al said  the cartoon was, “troubling at best given the historic racist attacks of African-Americans as being synonymous with monkeys.” Really? We just voted a kind of black man in office but if you make a monkey joke you are racist? I completely and utterly miss the correlation.

This continues to be a problem for our country in all aspects of race, gender, and religion. Every group, even white males (KKK) feel like they are somehow being offended and read way to much into the most innocuous events. Could we all just sac up a little please? There are plenty of real crimes against humanity out there. So many, in fact, that I could just write a blog about them everyday. Gay person being beaten? Yup. Person of color being assaulted? Check. Woman being sexually abused? Several times a day. When this kind of thing gets blown out of proportion, it takes the spotlight off of the real problems we face.

Eh…enough of my soapbox speech. Back to what you hoodlums came here for.

One time, in band camp, I met that hot monkey chick from Planet of the Apes. (You know, the one that Charlton Heston wanted to bang). Well, we knocked back a few banana daiquiris after practice one day and can I just tell you she rocked my world! Monkey chicks can do the most amazing things! And her tail? Oh my God…if only all women had a tail. What a wonderful world it would be. I don’t know where you are monkey woman, but I still fling my poopy around every once in a while just like we did in the old days. I miss you…

my-monkey-and-chuck-heston

(That damned Heston! Always trying to get busy with my monkey girlfriend).

11 Responses to Obama Looks Like A Dead Monkey?

  1. towp says:

    Maybe Rev Al should try to find out who really did write the Stimulus Bill.

  2. Ram Venkatararam says:

    I don’t know.

    I see a cartoon like that and all I think is that it would be funnier if it were 2 monkies who shot a cop then said something humerous about needing to find someone new to rough up the hookers. But I’m sure that would be equally offensive.

    Anyway, glad to hear “band camp” rocked for you!

  3. elizabeth3hersh says:

    TL, exactly what instrument were you playing in band camp (and did it involve tissues)?

  4. Michael says:

    It would be cool if a million monkeys on a million typewriters wrote the perfect stimulus bill.

    • tannerleah says:

      Michael – It would be helpful if you would feed me great lines like this BEFORE I publish the blog so I can steal it.

      And don’t worry, I am going to try to come up with some really, really shallow stuff soon.

  5. Reggie Girl says:

    I really enjoyed your post and….
    I love, love, love the picture of Charlton Heston from Planet of the Apes. Geez, I thought I was the only one who remembered that?? 🙂

    Steady On
    Reggie Girl

    • tannerleah says:

      Reggie Girl – Thank you and welcome!

      One of my all time favorite lines in a movie is, “Take your stinking paws off of me you damn dirty ape”. He said it with such disdain and contempt that it made you feel dirty just hearing it.

  6. towp says:

    All this monkey business has just gotta stop

Leave a Reply

