My Cross Is Bigger Than Your Cross!

This is the message that the Sagemont Church in Houston seems to be trying to express. How else can you explain their building a 170 foot tall cross? That’s about the size of a 15 story building. Here is a photo of the gigantic looking thing:

cross

Not exactly subtle, is it? Pastor John Morgan explains it like this: “The purpose is for people to know how special they are to God,” he said. “We want them to look at it and remember that God loves them.” Hmm…maybe that is true. However, when I look at it, I see a garish object built to satisfy the egos of self righteous people.

Look, I understand that Jesus was a carpenter so if you are going to make a wooden cross, you want to do it right. But c’mon, 170 feet? That is just ridiculous. It can now be added to all of the other mega crosses and mega churches around the country. Do you think all of this mega religious stuff has anything to do with money?

I suppose, to be fair, most depictions of Christ on the cross have him on a really big one and the other two criminals on smaller ones. So maybe having a bigger cross is important. Not to be outdone, Grace Community Church is going to build a 150 ft cross just a few miles down the road. Maybe they can hang a wire between the two crosses and sell rides during the summer. That would be awesome!

Some of the heathen neighbors of the church are not really digging the cross. Seems the lights shine brightly into their homes at night. Plus, their “view” out of the window now consists mostly of a big, white blob. Well, as Jesus would say, “Shut the hell up and stop complaining!” They need to embrace the cross. In fact, my hope is that the local Jewish synagogue puts up a Ferris wheel shaped liked a Star of David that is 300 feet tall. That would really make Jesus proud!

So, once again, religious folks are allowed to do whatever the hell they want. Do you think someone could put up a 170 sign that says “Jesus is not real”? Didn’t think so. In this country, you will embrace the cross…period. Even if I embraced this premise, which clearly I don’t, what does all of this have to do with God and spirituality?

How much do you think all of these mega crosses and mega churches cost? How many meals could this church have served the hungry in Houston for the price of this monstrosity? And why can’t the flock that approve these type of stupid things not see the irony here? Don’t get me wrong…many churches do an outstanding job in supporting their communities. But these kinds of things should embarrass anyone of any faith.

I have to go now. I am erecting a massive cross shaped in the letters of 3 K’s stacked on top of each other. It is going to be 200 feet tall and stands for, “Khrist Kherishes Khildren”. Do you see how I cleverly replaced the C’s with K’s? That’s to attract the young people. (This is copyrighted…don’t even think of stealing it). My first triple K cross will go up in Alabama because property is cheap there.

Remember, Jesus loves you and so does Tannerleah.

28 Responses to My Cross Is Bigger Than Your Cross!

  1. Jim Thornber says:

    I, too, have trouble with erecting huge crosses and hoping people get the message that God loves them. Yes, I want people to know about His love. It is the reason I write and teach about God. However, I agree they would be better off spending their money actually showing their love to their neighbor in a concrete way. As a Christian, I am often embarrassed by some of the things that take place in the name of Christ. Hopefully, when someone views my life, they’ll see love in action and not a bit piece of jewelry that shouts “MONEY” more than it says, “Love is often a sacrifice. How may I help.”

    Thanks for the blog.

    Blessings,

    Jim

  2. newman says:

    makes me cross

    erm

    sorry

    newman

  3. womaninblack says:

    Hey, Tannerleah, your last line – both at the same time, or separately? Because, you know, I’m not really that kind of girl. That’s a lie. I so am.

  4. tannerleah says:

    Jim – You know what? If every religious person had your attitude, this would be a MUCH better world to live in. I hope your message spreads. Thanks for an honest, insightful response.

    newman – I know…you couldn’t help yourself. I have the same disease.

    WIB – Did you really just ask about a threesome with you, me and JESUS??? That is sooooo wrong. Funny as hell but really, really wrong. No wonder I love your blog.

  5. elizabeth3hersh says:

    …reminds me of the Christ of the Redeemer statue affixed to the top of Corcovado mountain in Rio de Janeiro…can’t miss it from anywhere…maybe that is the idea.

  6. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Agreed…the Christ of the Redeemer statue is a piece of art with undulating folds and a dazzling summit to sit on. This huge cross sits in Texas and you know what they say about Texans when it comes to size…

  7. Ram Venkatararam says:

    Any chance I can get some cheap advertising space on that triple KKK cross of yours?

    I think a couple food here banners might class it up for you…

    • tannerleah says:

      Ah Ram…always the entrepreneur. Why yes, I can offer you some space but the title of your store is much too long. (It would be unfair to the other advertisers).

      How about this, “Food Con”. That still gets to the essence of your business plus I can keep the price down around 25k. Which, if you have seen the people that live in Alabama, you would realize is a pittance for the kind of traffic your store will get. You better double your orders on anything caffeine, sugar, alcohol, tobacco or condom related.

  8. kim says:

    I love it and think it is beautiful, especially lit up at night. And those of you who are talking about the cost….it cost God his son and Jesus his life. Sagemont has always donated money to good causes and missions from the beginning. They dont borrow money and the cross was paid for by its members. It surprises me how much a cross offends many, but strip clubs signs dont????? There are so many of those popping up, its crazy. Sagemonts message is simple: To be living proof of a loving God to a watching world. Anyone can go to that cross, it will be open to view 24/7 and i am proud to have it in my neighborhood.

    • tannerleah says:

      kim – I don’t think anyone has a problem with the cross. We are surrounded by crosses on a daily basis. The problem is it is 15 stories high! That is just silly. Would you be ok with a strip club with a 15 story high sign? Better yet, what about a 15 story high statue of Buddha outside of your door? Would you be cool with that?

      Almost all of us support the right to follow whatever faith you want, or don’t want, to follow. Personally, I am just getting tired of these kind of over the top displays. To me, it couldn’t be any less Christ like. Largesse and greed is a sickness of man…not God. (Assuming there is a God).

  9. Michael says:

    Good luck unveiling your massive erection!

  10. kim says:

    o.k, i see what you are saying. so no problem with the cross, but you dont like the height of it? i guess i see it as the majority of americans… i believe its about 80% ARE in fact christian, its just that 20% who would be complaining about it being “too tall”. the cross will always be persecuted big or small, unfortuanately.
    have a good day everyone.

  11. tannerleah says:

    kim – We have had these debates on this blog before. When the majority owned slaves, did it make it right? I won’t go that far but I will say that excusing your behavior because the “majority” feels that way is a weak argument. The Spanish Inquisition had the support of the majority and, I think we can agree, that was a pretty bad deal.

    Also, if you read the other comments, you will see that Jim (a devout Christian) also felt it was too much. So even within your own 80%, there is not a consensus.

    I think you are confusing persecution with common sense. People are offended because the cross does not make sense. It could have been a 170 foot ANYTHING and people would have complained. Please don’t excuse poor judgment using the cloak of Christianity.

  12. Jim Thornber says:

    I noticed my name was mentioned….

    I see crosses that size as pushy. I don’t see Jesus as pushy. Jesus invited people to accept His loving gift of sacrifice. He died and resurrected physically so we would not have to die spiritually separated from God.

    Furthermore, as central to Christianity as the event on Calvary was (and is), it must be noted that Jesus LIVED His relationship with God for 33 years before spending six hours on a Cross. A cross by itself doesn’t speak a message. It is a life lived according to the teachings of the Man upon the Cross that makes a difference. I’ve never heard of anyone pierced to their heart by seeing a fish bumper sticker on a car. I have known people changed by the loving forgiveness of a friend.

    You can live Christianity or you can point to a symbol and expect people to change. One is easy and involves no commitment. The other is a difficult decision that involves every aspect of a person’s life. I’m not about to point to a symbol until I have shown I can live according to what that symbol means.

    But hey, maybe I’m just weird that way.

    Blessings,

    Jim

    • tannerleah says:

      Jim – Once again you make a compelling case for Christianity. Although I am personally conflicted on the subject of Jesus and God, it is the approach that you describe that I find most appealing. A personal relationship and a life that speaks through actions rather than words and symbols. It is blind faith and the submission to man made rules and icons that I find most disturbing. A mindless flock that will follow a man down any path he leads them. For me, critical thinking is the greatest gift we own and to sublet that out for others to use is criminal in my opinion.

      Thanks for stopping by again and sharing some sensible insight.

      (Message to Art – THIS is how you get through to the Liz’s of the world. This and shopping excursions at Gucci’s.).

  13. mandi says:

    like it’s been said above the cross is to
    A.show god’s love
    B.give people hope

    it has never been about being bigger than other peoples crosses.
    our church has funded millions of dollars for missions and this is our pastors project and idea.

    the cross was built by helping houstonions.
    the church hired random people [non church members] in the area to come help build the cross.
    these were people with low income jobs,people who didnt have jobs and people who desperately needed the money.

    the cross itself was paid for by tithers.

    it isnt ment to push god on anyone;merely just to show how big He is.

    • tannerleah says:

      mandi – That sounds like a very nice gesture. Wouldn’t the better play have been to build a homeless shelter or rec center for these people? I mean, other than just looking at it, what perfunctory value does a giant cross have? It sounds like the intentions were good but the strategy, from my point of view, deeply flawed.

  14. art vandelay says:

    I agree…the cross is way too abtrusive…even gaudy

    • tannerleah says:

      So far, we have a unanimous decision among non-believers and a split decision by Jesus lovers. It’s just simply too freakin’ big!

      PS – How can I be almost 48 years old and still don’t get the i before e rule? I hate that stoopid rule.

  15. Amanda says:

    I live about two-thirds of a mile from this cross. It is very hard to miss.

    Sadly, there is no synagogue close by….

  16. LarryB says:

    I think the last thing “Jesus” wants to see when he returns is a big freakin’ cross!!! Maybe I will get some people to pitch in for a 200 ft pentagram. Have a nice day.

  17. Brian says:

    Sagemont is just following Scripture here:

    “For I was hungry, and you built me a humongous cross to look at; I was thirsty, so you lit it up at night; I was naked, so you built a fancy ampitheather around it…”

    And Sagemont wants us to understand just how big God is. Thanks to them, we can know the Creator of the Universe is 170 feet tall.

    There are some other churches who might teach nonsense like how the immensity of God is best understood in terms of his being incarnated into a tiny helpless infant. Luckily Sagemont is here to disabuse us of such errors with their big giant cross idol.

    • tannerleah says:

      Brian – good point…perhaps I should reconsider. Maybe it should have been a 270 foot cross and then terrorists would have attacked it instead of a building with people in it. See how God always has a master plan?

  18. Anonymous says:

    The Cross you are speaking of is 7 miles from my house. It is dwarfed by the the Loop 8 and those lights are higher and brighter. i like it. i am catholic and i don’t think it bothers anyone.

Leave a Reply

