Blog Writers Are “Sad And Pathetic”

This is what a colleague told me recently. (And, yes, they know I write a blog). As I thought about this insult to my manhood, I started to wonder if maybe it was actually true? Maybe people that write blogs are sad and pathetic. Maybe their whole life is passing them by and they don’t even realize it?

With this in mind, I went to 3 of my favorite blogs to see if there was any truth to this blistering indictment.

First up is http://foodhere.wordpress.com/ This blog is owned by master small business owner Ram Venkatararam. Ram strikes me as a pretty happy guy. Sure, he was named after a type of goat but many of us have silly names. And, yes, he has to chase old men away from the magazine rack as they “adjust their trousers” while checking out the latest issue of Hustler. And once or twice a day he has to clean up the vomit on aisle two thanks to some drunk guy trying to buy another six pack. And, finally, sweeping up used condoms, cigarette butts and empty cans of PBR can no doubt be trying. But what we also learned recently is that Ram had an “almost” erection for about 30 seconds. Does this sound like a “sad and pathetic” man to you? I thought not.

Next we visit http://unemployeddad.com/ This blog is owned by unemployed entrepreneur, Michael. Allegedly, Michael lost his last job because two ghosts named “not me” and “I da know” set him up. (A document was later leaked on the Smoking Gun website attributing Michael’s firing to mental instability). Really, does an unemployed, Canadian man that roams around in a bathrobe all day and writes cartoons sound at all sad and pathetic to you? Of course not.

Finally, we take a trip to  http://womaninblack71.wordpress.com/ The Woman In Black (WIB) apparently resides somewhere in England. (I deduced this from the fact that she is constantly throwing extra vowels into her words). Now granted, living in England is a good reason to be sad what with all of the rain, boiled vegetables and TV that consists of “A Man and His Dog”. But the WIB seems to be in pretty good spirits! Well, except that she recently had a disease that begins with “S”. Scurvy, skunk pox, syphilis, or some such thing. Plus she is now looking for friends on Twitter. Again I ask you; sad and pathetic? C’mon.

And what about me? I am a man (occasionally black) that is rapidly approaching the age of 50. I am gray, balding, overweight, depressed (which is NOT sad!) and have an unnatural obsession with Sarah Palin. So much so that a box of Kleenex must always be by my computer. Every waking moment I am not at work, I sit here and bang away on my keyboard only interrupted occasionally by searches for “Sarah Palin boobs”. Now I ask you, does any of this sound in the least bit sad and pathetic?

I am glad I have been able to vindicate my fellow bloggers. Next time you want to insult me, try a little harder. Poopy heads.

11 Responses to Blog Writers Are “Sad And Pathetic”

  1. womaninblack says:

    Tannerleah, you are in no way “sad and pathetic”. For a start, my blog is one of your favourites, which instantly makes you awesome, damn handsome and sexually magnetic. Immediately forward me this colleague’s email address and I will berate him in a dreadfully British way until the mere sight of Hugh Grant will make him quake in his boots. No one insults Tannerleah without the wrath of the Woman in Black being visited upon them. Unless I insult you, in which case, you’re on your own.
    Put us on your blogroll. Come on. Show me yours and I’ll show you mine.

    • tannerleah says:

      Thank you womaninblack. By the way, I see you did the extra vowel thing with “favourite”. You Brits just can’t help yourselves, can you?

      This blogroll thing you mention. That is a something I can do to my blog, isn’t it? Here is my promise to you; I will spend five minutes trying to sort it out but I make no promises.

      And for your kind words, here is an extra vowel just for youo. (Eh, I guess it doesn’t look good when an American does it).

      EDIT – You are now on my blogroll. I am not sure what you get for such an honor but I hope you enjoy.

  2. ummmmheyyyy says:

    Blogging is not sad and pathetic.

    Twittering, however, is.

    I found Foodhere today . . it’s amazing.

    • tannerleah says:

      ummmmheyyyyy – (Sorry if I spelled your name wrong). Totally agree about Twitter. I think it is just a joke to see how many people will sign up. Somewhere, a 14 year old is laughing his a** off while swigging Mountain Dew.

  3. elizabeth3hersh says:

    TL, you must be bangin’ away on a lot more than your keyboard if you keep a box of Kleenex by your computer.

    When is this myth about British food going to end? I spent five weeks in London and the food there rivaled any major metropolitan city in the US. My food orgies in London (particularly the Indian buffets) are seared into the gustatory recesses of my memory banks. Some one send me a Ploughman’s lunch.

  4. Ram Venkatararam says:

    Thank you for that gritty, raw and compelling portait. I thought you captured me well and am glad to see that my partial erection continues to generate interest.

    Tannerleah Sad and Pathetic? Nonsense.

    I agree with MIB and would suggest you take her up on her offer to discipline any critics. She as a sharp tongue.

    By the way, I loved your comments about her extra vowels. It’s so true. Those Brits – they just can’t help themselves.

    All the best, Tannerleah, and thanks for the mention. Appreciate it!

  5. Michael says:

    Thanks for the shout out, though if you look more closely at the smoking gun report, the cause of the mental instability was directly linked to frequent, massive and raging erections. So it’s a bit of a double edged sword.

  6. Michael says:

    Thanks for the shout out, though if you look more closely at the smoking gun report, they linked the mental instability with massive and raging erections lasting more than four hours without the aid of male enhancers, natural or otherwise. Those guys really do their homework!

  7. Michael says:

    Thanks for the shout out! If you look more closely at the smoking gun report, it says that the mental instability is linked to natural massive and raging erections leading to short term memory loss. Which is complete crap, I have a mind like a steel trap.

  8. Michael says:

    It’s a Canadian man thing

Leave a Reply

