Daschle Screws The Tax Pooch

Why is it that multi-millionaires have so much trouble finding a good tax guy? Now we learn that Tom Daschle owes over 120k in taxes that he somehow didn’t know need to be paid. Apparently, there was some confusion on whether his car service is a taxable benefit. Shouldn’t someone that does taxes for a living know this answer?

The more Barry keeps recycling the same old tired Democrats, the more obvious that “change” is going to be exceedingly difficult. Frankly, many of these folks have made out like bandits over the last several decades so why in the world would they want to change anything?

Let’s use Tom as an example. He made over 200k the last two years in speaking fees for the health care industry. I repeat: the health care industry paid Senator Tom Daschle over 200k to talk to them. Overall, Tom took home a cool 5.2 million dollars in the last 24 months. Now, Barry wants Tom to be the Health and Human Services secretary. He will be a key player in reforming the health care industry. WTF? How can you even make such a statement with a straight face?

Tom, like so many of the other tried and true Democrats Barry has picked, have had plenty of chances over the years to change things for the better. They didn’t do it. It is like listening to the Republicans now spewing about the great ideas they have. Really? Have you just been sitting on them for the last eight years?

I have never liked Daschle because he has “small man” disease. I forget which Sunday morning show it was, but he threw a fit because he looked shorter on the TV screen. Hey Tom, you ARE shorter! Pelosi, Reid, Emanuel, Clinton, Daschle, Frank and on and on and on. Gee, what an exciting group. That’s change, isn’t it?

Look, I understand that Barry only has so many choices and he has to get most of the players on his team from the Beltway crowd. That’s just the way it is. Still, I would have liked to see him be a little more daring. Cross the aisle, pick some junior politicians…maybe even a few outsiders. Instead, it just looks exceeding like Clinton part 3. Honestly, which of these people would Hillary have not chosen?

There is the very slim hope that Obama realized early on that he was going to have to stick with the regular players to fill out his team. So, to avoid making waves, he picked the obvious choices. However, maybe he can be the guy he claimed to be and ignore all of their standard, partisan politics. In the end, he listens, nods his head slowly, and then does whatever the hell he wants to do. Dubya basically did this so it is possible.

Good luck Barry. You are going to be a lonely man on Capital Hill.

52 Responses to Daschle Screws The Tax Pooch

  1. Doug says:

    Barry is making smart political moves to ensure that the matters on his agenda are enacted. Bush did the exact same thing (although I was completely opposed to his particular agenda). Unfortunately, that’s the way it works in American politics. Barry’s agenda is to help the “average” American. Bush’s agenda was to help the rich, and the corporation’s under their control, get richer.

    • tannerleah says:

      Doug – I just don’t see how you get different results with the same players. Maybe financially because that is more dependent on business rather than government. But for all of the lofty moral goals Barry has set, I just don’t see it. I hope I am wrong…and in a big way.

  2. elizabeth3hersh says:

    It looks like the same ‘ol, same ‘ol TL, but perhaps not. Earlier, I opined over Obamamania and how I didn’t think he had done anything to warrant such adulation. Well, he has done something: he will be lifting the federal restrictions on stem cell research as early as this week. This is exciting news! The solution to our political problems will not be provided by religion, but rather scientific advances. Obama likely will give full throttle to scientific research and properly fund our scientific institutions. Imagine if we discovered a source of limitless energy (we will eventually). It may be just the geopolitical solution the world needs. It would level the playing field, from the most remote village in Africa to wealthy Lichtenstein in Europe, education will flourish and we may end up getting along (imagine that). So props to Barry!

    P.S. Change will come, but he is steering a very rocky ship right now.

  3. elizabeth3hersh says:

    This is no kool Aid TL (yes, I get the Jim Jones reference), rather a tall brewski with a thick foamy head. We need these (experienced) lying, thieving bastards to steer the ship until we are back on course. Last year, Congress slashed funding to Fermilab/High Energy Physics and I’m counting on Obama and our Democratic Congress to restore that funding. Because he is getting stem cell research back on track I have high hopes for this administration (and remember I’m a registered Republican!). Your blog TL, is possible through the wonderful research at CERN in Switzerland who gave us the world wide web. See what neat things are possible through physics research?

  4. art vandelay says:

    What about the owner of the Steelers “thanking Obama for the Super Bowl Victory”….these Obama people are
    WHACK JOBS!

    Liz–why don’t you just become a scientologist—I’ve never heard of a Jew that doesn’t believe in God.

  5. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Art, I’m too enamored of the marvels of modern medicine to be a scientologist and besides, they believe in reincarnation. I would agree with Germany that Scientology is more cult than religion. Lots of Jews (and Christians) do not not believe in God. They are taught to engage in critical thinking and skepticism. What are they skeptical of? Supernatural beings (why is that a stretch?). Check out this map of European atheism:

    There is nothing like going global to change one’s perspective and through the study of cosmology, you can even get off this planet which is really enlightening. It is the closet thing to religion that I have found.

    • tannerleah says:

      Liz – What is funny about this whole religious debate between you and Art is that, aside from this one sticking point, you seem to be birds of a feather. I mean, before you found out Art was a “she”, you wanted to do him/her. Can’t you two just agree to disagree?

  6. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Oh yes, the virtual tryst proposal. We’re now just BFF’s. Maybe I can hit on Doug (that is, if he is really a guy).

  7. elizabeth3hersh says:

    jk Doug, sexual harassment is verboten on TL’s blog. He is the only one allowed to ogle and engage in provocative discourse.

  8. Doug Panther says:

    No problem Liz. I consider myself a tri-sexual – meaning that I’ll try anything once. I can also attest that I am 100% male.

  9. Doug Panther says:

    Liz – You’d probably be more interested (at least intellectually)in my father-in-law. He’s a physicist at the Stanford Linear Accelerator.

  10. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Doug, you have no idea how excited you just made me (over your father-in-law, that is).

  11. art vandelay says:

    By definition a Christian is a person who believes in Jesus Christ and Jesus Christ is God. A person who does not believe in God should come up with a new title for themselves because they are NOT a Christian. It’s the very people like THAT that give Christians a bad name…THEY are the hypocrites. I don’t know enough about Judaism but I would think if you’re going to embrace a religion you should be committed to it completely…none of this picking and choosing the things you like or dislike. Thomas Jefferson’s bible had certain scripture cut out and pages ripped out of things he didn’t like about it so he made his own bible. God’s word is complete so you either accept it or reject it. It’s all or nothing. People who believe in God are his friend, those who don’t are God’s enemy. What a terrifying place to be. I read a book long ago titled “I Don’t Have Enough Faith to Be an Atheist.” It was really good but I may pull it out for a re-read. Being an athiest takes just as much faith as those who believe—sometimes even more.

    Regarding God and Kurt Warner–I agree…that was very MEAN of Him. I still can’t believe that guy would thank Obama for the Super Bowl Victory. I’m a stranger in my own country.

  12. Doug says:

    Art – I think the only ones terrified of God are you and the other wackos out there. :o)

    • tannerleah says:

      So we haven’t solved the whole religious thing. Dang, I thought we were getting so close!

      Liz, I got my Jew beanie (I am sure it has a more formal name). I look smoking hot in it. Thank you!

  13. art vandelay says:

    Whacko, Christian, call me what you will.
    I’ll just call you stupid…are we even?

  14. art vandelay says:

    Toda!

  15. art vandelay says:

    (That’s jewish for Thank you)
    See why I need Jesus??

  16. elizabeth3hersh says:

    All I have to say is that I would much rather be at Doug’s father-in-law’s dinner table, discussing muons, gluons, the ever elusive Higgs boson and when the Large Hadron Collider is going to get fired up again.

  17. elizabeth3hersh says:

    TL, I have to assign you a Hebrew name (somehow, Shlomo is just not right for you). It will take a little thought as you will be stuck with it for the rest of your life. With your new yarmulke, you can now sneak out on Friday nights and crash all the oneg Shabbats you want (try the rugelach…you’ll never eat a Ho-Ho again). Just be sure to greet the men with “Shabbat Shalom” and don’t offer to shake a women’s hand if you decide to go the Orthodox route. (FYI, it is considered a mitzvah to have sex with your wife on Shabbat).

    P.S. Did it cover the bald spot?

    Doug, you’re probably every bit as brilliant as your father-in-law (and a comic genius, like TL).

    Art, this is for you (I have a lot more of these, but I don’t want you to get restless):

    (Credit: the Skeptic’s Bible)

    Genesis

    1) God creates light and separates light from darkness, and day from night, on the first day. Yet he didn’t make the light producing objects (the sun and the stars) until the fourth day (1:14-19). 1:3-5

    2) God spends one-sixth of his entire creative effort(the second day) working on a solid firmament. This strange structure, which God calls heaven, is intended to separate the higher waters from the lower waters. 1:6-8

    3) Plants are made on the third day before there was a sun to drive their photosynthetic processes (1:14-19). 1:11

    4) In an apparent endorsement of astrology, God places the sun, moon, and stars in the firmament so that they can be used “for signs”. This, of course, is exactly what astrologers do: read “the signs” in the Zodiac in an effort to predict what will happen on Earth. 1:14

    5) “He made the stars also.” God spends a day making light (before making the stars) and separating light from darkness; then, at the end of a hard day’s work, and almost as an afterthought, he makes the trillions of stars. 1:16

    6) “And God set them in the firmament of the heaven to give light upon the earth.” 1:17

    7) God commands us to “be fruitful and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over … every living thing that moveth upon the earth.” 1:28

    8))”I have given you every herb … and every tree … for meat.” 1:29

    9) “He rested.”
    Even God gets tired sometimes. 2:2

    10) “The tree of life … and the tree of knowledge of good and evil.”
    God created two magic trees: the tree of life and the tree of knowledge. Eat from the the first, and you live forever (3:22); eat from the second and you’ll die the same day (2:17). (Or that’s what God said, anyway. Adam ate from the tree of knowledge and lived for another 930 years or so (5:5). But he never got a change to eat from the tree of life. God prevented him from eating from the tree of life before Adam could eat from the tree, become a god, and live forever.) 2:9

  18. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I just came across this quote:

    Religion. It’s given people hope in a world torn apart by religion. — Jon Stewart

  19. art vandelay says:

    I don’t really follow–not sure what I am to assimilate from this–that God screwed up or did things wrong?? God did everything to perfection and he did not rest on the 7th day because he was tired..it was an illustration to us that after we work, we rest. He could’ve created the entire universe in a millisecond….he’s God. Scientists have limitations….God has none. God gave these brilliant scientists their minds and they don’t realize it, and quite frankly, all their brilliant work is done in vain when you are not honoring God.
    I just finished reading Bill O’Reilly’s latest book while on vacation last week—was impressed at what a devout believer he is…and ya know, he’s not exactly “stupid”. (I’m sure Doug would classify him as a wacko though) 🙂

  20. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Art, your fawning over God sounds almost childlike and your willingness to believe everything in the Bible is frankly, scary to me. According to religious devotees, God operates by his own laws of physics which he changes at will (because, why else, he’s God goddamnit!!). I watch the O’Reilly Factor every night. I like megalomaniac Bill because he is passionate on some issues I am fond of (children’s advocacy for example) and I am very fond of some of his guests (Christopher Hitchens, Sam Harris, et al). O’Reilly’s religious devotion can be directly linked to all the whacking of his knuckles he received by nuns in parochial school. Had he been raised in a secular environment, I dare say, he would have turned out much differently. Art, you are living in microcosm of religiosity. You can emancipate your mind through reading. Aren’t there any intellectual homies you can hang with where you live? Since I rarely leave my home any more, I get my mine through reading and TV (and Doug).

  21. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Art, as I recall, one of the main reasons O’Reilly gave for believing in God is that the universe is so fine tuned for life (it is exquisitively fine tuned). He did not factor in the possibility of a multiverse, meaning, there could be many other universes not conducive to life. Theoretical physicist Michio Kaku explains the multiverse to a BBC World journalist (here is the link):

    Anyone interested, please watch as it is fascinating!!

  22. art vandelay says:

    I don’t need to complicate my life with science when I have the truth in Jesus. Science doesn’t give me everlasting life..Jesus does. I would think O’Reilly would have turned away from religion after his abuse from the nuns and the brainwashing of the Catholic church but instead he is intelligent enough to realize there is an all-powerful God…another one of your faves Glenn Beck is a devout believer, too. I’ll remain “child like” and you can remain a Jew that doesn’t believe in God…now THAT is what I don’t get.

  23. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Art, there’s always the Amish route. They don’t endorse science either. I think they get the same ticket to everlasting life. If only wishful thinking were real…

  24. Doug says:

    Liz – Thanks for the link. Michio Kaku is fascinating! If Art had her way, you and I would be burned at the stake like Bruno.

  25. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Thanks Doug. It is baffling to me how someone could not be dazzled and enraptured (no, not that Rapture) by the latest working hypotheses from leading theoretical physicists. Science, evolution and progress will march on nonetheless. Someone recently lamented that society in the near future will not be divided by the have’s and the have-nots, but rather the knows and knows-not. There is no disgrace in not knowing, only in not being interested.

    Since the universe is only about 4% atom based, maybe the rest is that Heaven and Hell that Art believes in (I guess it’s Hell because its mostly dark matter and dark energy…wow, that’s a really, really large space).

    • tannerleah says:

      I really do hate to be away and miss all of the lively conversations that are going on.

      For once, I am going to defend Art. One of the things that religious folks do is treat non-believers in a condescending way. Liz, you have totally crossed that line. While you may be perplexed by someone’s faith, you have no right to belittle it. “Child like”? C’mon…that’s pretty weak. You might be right…you might not be. That is the beauty of free will and our ability to choose. Why can’t your beliefs be good enough? Why the need for both sides to convert the other? One of you is wrong and, for those of us living, we won’t know until we are turned to dust.

      You are passionate about science and Art is passionate about God. Frankly, I find both to have redeeming value. I am not passionate because I am not convinced either way. For me, it allows me to take the best from both worlds. Sit on the fence sometimes. Except for the stick up your a**, it’s not a bad place to be.

  26. art vandelay says:

    What I have is “faith” which is a belief of something that is not based on logic…something that can’t be explained. If you want to call it childish I’m fine with that. You are no different–you have “faith” in athiesm–that can’t be proven either. As I’ve said before, what good is a God that can be proven by science??? One I’m definitely not interested in…He wouldn’t be GOD. I have faith but have also studied God’s word enough to know it is all the proof I need….it all fits, everything is perfectly complete… From the first chapter of Genesis to the last page of Revelation the huge jigsaw puzzle is perfection. Just because it is not your belief system please do not belittle me. I don’t hear you raking O’Reilly & Glenn Beck over the coals–they believe in the same Jesus as I do as much as I’m sure you don’t want to admit that someone you tune into regularly could think so absurdly. Christians put their faith in Jesus—THE AMISH DON’T. I can respect your scientific beliefs but you lose me when you call yourself Jewish but don’t believe in God. I can’t imagine that going over too well with your Jewish brethren. The Jews I met in Israel BELIEVED IN GOD DEVOUTLY–JEWS are God’s Chosen people—do you not know that?? Jesus has never made one promise or prophecy that has not been fulfilled TO THE LETTER—find ONE and we’ll talk. You won’t. I’m waiting to watch you and Doug take a ride on the next Hale-Bopp Comet–Bon Voyage! (Had to get even with the “amish” slam!)

  27. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I rather like the feisty side of Art. Linking Doug and I in with the Heaven’s Gate cult was comical too! You go, girl! Art, I don’t have issue so much with the existence of God, than I do with those who purport God is real based on their (divinely inspired) scripture.

    Example: Deuteronomy 13:7-11:

    If your brother…tries to secretly seduce you saying, “Let us go and serve other gods”…you must stone him to death since he has tried to divert you from Yahweh your God…

    Are these your peeps? See how religion has evolved over the millennium (yes, even religion undergoes evolution) to a kinder, more mellow entity?

    Sorry, TL, I disagree with you on swatting down the absurd and the ridiculous. I once had childlike faith and can credit some highly intelligent and well-meaning teachers who opened my eyes to reason, rationality and the search for TRUTH (and it took some serious mental swatting). Blind acceptance without investigation annoys the hell out of me. I don’t accept it from my daughters so why should I accept it from Art? She doesn’t deserve the same high standards?

    …one last question: why is CERN looking for the Higgs boson (the “God particle”) instead of God himself?

  28. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I apologize as this is terribly long, but it is essential reading. The author is Sam Harris and he is responding to Christians over a book he wrote. Every argument I could make is distilled in this letter. PLEASE take the time to read it and I promise not to post any lengthy comments (for a while). If you read it in its entirety Art, I will even promise not to blog for 24 hours…fair?):

    Since the publication of my first book, The End of Faith, I have received thousands of letters and e-mails from religious believers insisting that I am wrong not to believe in God. Invariably, the most unpleasant of these communications have come from Christians. This is ironic, as Christians generally believe that no faith imparts the virtues of love and forgiveness more effectively than their own. Please accept this for what it is: the testimony of a man who is in a position to observe how people behave when their faith is challenged. Many who claim to have been transformed by Christ’s love are deeply, even murderously, intolerant of criticism. While you may ascribe this to human nature, it is clear that the hatred these people feel comes directly from the Bible. How do I know this? Because the most deranged of my correspondents always cite chapter and verse.

    Before I present some of my reasons for rejecting your faith — which are also my reasons for believing that you, too, should reject it — I want to acknowledge that there are a few things that you and I agree about. We agree that, if one of us is right, then the other is wrong. The Bible either is the word of God, or it isn’t. Either Jesus offers humanity the one, true path to salvation (John 14:6), or he does not. We agree that to be a real Christian is to believe that all other faiths are in error and profoundly so. If Christianity is correct, and I persist in my unbelief, I should expect to suffer the torments of hell. Worse still, I have persuaded others, many close to me, to persist in a state of unbelief. They, too, will languish in “everlasting fire” (Matthew 25:41). If the claims of Christianity are true, I will have realized the worst possible outcome of a human life. The fact that my continuous and public rejection of Christianity does not worry me should suggest to you just how unsatisfactory I think your reasons for being a Christian are.

    You believe that the Bible is the literal (or inspired) word of God and that Jesus is the Son of God-and you believe these propositions because you think they are true, not merely because they make you feel good. You may wonder how it is possible for a person like myself to find these sorts of assertions ridiculous. While it is famously difficult for atheists and believers to communicate about these matters, I am confident that I can give you a very clear sense of what it feels like to be an atheist.Consider: every devout Muslim has the same reasons for being a Muslim that you now have for being a Christian. And yet, you know exactly what it is like not to find these reasons compelling. On virtually every page, the Qur’an declares that it is the perfect word of the Creator of the universe. Muslims believe this as fully as you believe the Bible’s account of itself. There is a vast literature describing the life of Muhammad that, from the Muslim point of view, proves his unique status as the Prophet of God. While Muhammad did not claim to be divine, he claimed to offer the most perfect revelation of God’s will. He also assured his followers that Jesus was not divine (Qur’an 5:71-75; 19:30-38) and that anyone who believed otherwise would spend eternity in hell. Muslims are convinced that Muhammad’s pronouncements on these subjects, as on all others, are infallible.

    Why don’t you find these claims convincing? Why don’t you lose any sleep over whether or not you should convert to Islam? Please take a moment to reflect on this. You know exactly what it is like to be an atheist with respect to Islam. Isn’t it obvious that Muslims are not being honest in their evaluation of the evidence? Isn’t it obvious that anyone who thinks that the Qur’an is the perfect word of the Creator of the universe has not read the book very critically? Isn’t it obvious that Muslims have developed a mode of discourse that seeks to preserve dogma, generation after generation, rather than question it? Yes, these things are obvious. Understand that the way you view Islam is precisely the way every Muslim views Christianity. And it is the way I view all religions.

    Christians regularly assert that the Bible predicts future historical events. For instance, Deuteronomy 28:64 says, “The Lord will scatter you among the nations from one end of the earth to the other.” Jesus says, in Luke 19:43-44, “The days will come upon you when your enemies will build an embankment against you and encircle you in on every side. They will dash you to the ground, you and the children within your walls. They will not leave one stone on another, because you did not recognize the time of God’s coming to you.” We are meant to believe that these utterances predict the subsequent history of the Jews with such uncanny specificity so as to admit of only a supernatural explanation. It is on the basis of such reasoning that 44 percent of the American population now believes that Jesus will return to earth to judge the living and the dead sometime in the next fifty years.

    But just imagine how breathtakingly specific a work of prophecy could be if it were actually the product of omniscience. If the Bible were such a book, it would make specific, falsifiable predictions about human events. You would expect it to contain a passage like, “In the latter half of the twentieth century, humankind will develop a globally linked system of computers — the principles of which I set forth in Leviticus — and this system shall be called the Internet.” The Bible contains nothing remotely like this. In fact, it does not contain a single sentence that could not have been written by a man or woman living in the first century.

    Take a moment to imagine how good a book could be if it were written by the Creator of the universe. Such a book could contain a chapter on mathematics that, after two thousand years of continuous use, would still be the richest source of mathematical insight the earth has ever seen. Instead, the Bible contains some very obvious mathematical errors. In two places, for instance, the Good Book gives the ratio of a circumference of a circle to its diameter as simply 3 (1 Kings 7: 23-26 and 2 Chronicles 4: 2-5). We now refer to this constant relation with the Greek letter p. While the decimal expansion of p runs to infinity — 3.1415926535 . . . — we can calculate it to any degree of accuracy we like. Centuries before the oldest books of the Bible were written, both the Egyptians and Babylonians approximated p to a few decimal places. And yet the Bible — whether inerrant or divinely inspired — offers us an approximation that is terrible even by the standards of the ancient world. Needless to say, many religious people have found ingenious ways of rationalizing this. And yet, these rationalizations cannot conceal the obvious deficiency of the Bible as a source of mathematical insight. It is absolutely true to say that, if Archimedes had written a chapter of the Bible, the text would bear much greater evidence of the author’s “omniscience.”

    Why doesn’t the Bible say anything about electricity, about DNA, or about the actual age and size of the universe? What about a cure for cancer? Millions of people are dying horribly from cancer at this very moment, many of them children. When we fully understand the biology of cancer, this understanding will surely be reducible to a few pages of text. Why aren’t these pages, or anything remotely like them, found in the Bible? The Bible is a very big book. There was room for God to instruct us on how to keep slaves and sacrifice a wide variety of animals. Please appreciate how this looks to one who stands outside the Christian faith. It is genuinely amazing how ordinary a book can be and still be thought the product of omniscience.

    Of course, your reasons for believing in God may be more personal than those I have discussed above. I have no doubt that your acceptance of Christ coincided with some very positive changes in your life. Perhaps you regularly feel rapture or bliss while in prayer. I do not wish to denigrate any of these experiences. I would point out, however, that billions of other human beings, in every time and place, have had similar experiences — but they had them while thinking about Krishna, or Allah, or the Buddha, while making art or music, or while contemplating the sheer beauty of nature. There is no question that it is possible for us to have profoundly transformative experiences. And there is no question that it is possible for us to misinterpret these experiences and to further delude ourselves about the nature of the universe.

    If you have read my letter this far, one of two things has happened. Either you have perceived some error that is genuinely fatal to my argument, or you have ceased to be a Christian. Please don’t hesitate to contact me with any errors you may have found. You could yet save me the torments of hell.

    • tannerleah says:

      Liz – This is your argument? Why didn’t God include the cure for cancer in the Bible? Now that is stupid. The Bible is neither a dictionary nor a reference guide. I even know that. You can believe it is literal or a bunch of metaphors but take it for what it is. Does science not exist because IT has not found a cure for cancer? Puh-leeze.

  29. Doug says:

    Art. You ridicule the Hale Bopp Comet Cult, but the sad thing is that their beliefs stem directly from the same bible that you so freely quote and believe – According to the book Messengers of Deception, “the cult leader, Marshall Applewhite was recovering from a heart attack during which he claimed to have had a near-death experience. He came to believe that he and his nurse, Bonnie Nettles, were “the Two”, that is, the two witnesses spoken of in Book of Revelation 11:3 in the Holy Bible.”

  30. elizabeth3hersh says:

    …”take it for what it is”…

    If you don’t cherry pick, it’s also a primer on how to beat your slaves, stone infidels, and sacrifice animals.

    TL, you scoffed and expressed incredulity that a cancer cure was not incorporated into the Bible, yet express none for the aforementioned items?

    Methinks you take issue with my “tone” and not the subject matter (fair assessment?).

    See, I kept it sweet and succinct.

    • tannerleah says:

      So we don’t have slaves, stone infidels or sacrifice animals in 2009? Get out of the US much?

      I think you were the one that scoffed at cancer but I will take credit if it makes me look smarter.

      Yes, it is all about tone. I think a vigorous discussion is healthy but bullying or name calling is not my cup of tea (unless I do it). Fight a clean fight and I have no issues. You God-less Jew.

  31. elizabeth3hersh says:

    …says the Jew-bashing, paganistic, heretical infidel…

  32. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I am not worthy oh mighty one…

    (I was going to annoint you Solomon, but now it’s just Shmuley).

  33. elizabeth3hersh says:

    There was an amalgamation of religion, science and politics in George Will’s op-ed piece this Sunday (http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2009/02/06/AR2009020602743.html), sort of along the lines of the thread of this post. The erudite and scholarly Mr. Will states in reference to evolution: “an American majority resists such an annoying notion, endorsing the proposition that ‘God created human beings pretty much in their present form at one time within the last 10,000 years.’ Still, evolution is a fact, and its mechanism is natural selection: creatures with variations especially suited to their environmental situation have more descendants than do less well-adapted creatures.”

    …which caused me to reflect that most Americans can’t perform brain surgery, understand the inner workings of basic television or write a moving sonnet. Can we not enjoy and use and benefit from things out of the realm of our understanding or even our aptitude? Can we not be curious and engage in vigorous investigation when it comes to exploring and understanding our natural world?

    George Will can be a very tough read and it may take some mental elasticity to understand him, but his articles are worth peeking at from time to time.

    • tannerleah says:

      Liz – Again you equate religion with a lack of brains. Who says that a person of faith does not have curiosity? Again, do we have to go down the laundry list of inventors and scientists that followed God? You have a reasonable argument but when you try to marry religion with stupidity (meaning ALL religious people are stupid and uninterested) it loses merit.

  34. elizabeth3hersh says:

    ok, maybe we shood not reed Georges Will, that pompus elitist. wat duz he no anyway.

  35. elizabeth3hersh says:

    anyone who wears a bow tie is stoopid…

Leave a Reply

