Springsteen Is A Money Whore? Gee…You Don’t Say.

Some fans of the Boss are upset by the fact that he is selling his new greatest hits album through an exclusive deal through Wal-Mart. (AC/DC did the same thing with their latest, Black Ice). The gripe is that Wal-Mart has a lot of labor issues and Bruce is supposed to be pro labor. Really? Is this still 1972 when Bruce had to work for a living? If you think this guys has any kind of connection with the average guy, you are sadly mistaken.

And is the labor situation the only issue you have with Wal Mart? This is the same store that won’t sell you a Playboy but will happily sell you a shotgun. This is the same place that finally made the Adolph Hitler birthday cake when other stores refused. Wal Mart is the ultimate whore of whores, financially. They will do anything to make a buck. Having said that, they serve a purpose. Our consumptive nation needs to be fed and be fed on the cheap. Nikes made by kids in a sweatshop? I wouldn’t dare buy them. What’s that? 2 pairs for the price of one? I’ll take four. They are only serving the needs of our union.

Bruce is doing the same thing. He is trying to speak to the masses. What else is there for him to accomplish? Musically, he has done just about everything a person can do. I think the Super Bowl was about the last remaining untapped challenge. We can all watch him perform and reminisce about the glory days. Life will be good as we watch on our big screen TVs and consume copious amounts of food and beverages. Again,  this is an American tradition.

I wish I could think of a popular artist that has remained true throughout their careers. There are a few that come close. Petty, The Dead, Dylan and less popular people like Warren Zevon and Lou Reed. Although, even these artists have come perilously close to selling out. But I don’t blame them or any other high paid person. Also, I don’t mean to single out musicians. Celebrities, athletes, and even Board of Directors members sell out on a regular basis. I am always amused when the CEO trashes a company and then is immediately welcomed with open arms by another company. It is quite an exclusive club.

As for me, I would sell out in the blink of an eye…I think. I would like to think that I would stay grounded and cling to my core convictions. But let’s face it; if you have the chance to grab the brass ring, who among is going to say no? And if you have already reached a particular plateau, aren’t you expected to take it to an even higher level? It’s human nature so we should give Bruce a break. Yes, he is a money grubbing whore but wouldn’t we all be if the opportunity presented itself?

So Sarah, Jen, Halle, Salma, and Monica (Lewinsky not Bellucci) you might still have a chance but I can’t make any promises.

10 Responses to Springsteen Is A Money Whore? Gee…You Don’t Say.

  1. Doug Panther says:

    Eddie Vedder and Pearl Jam are still pretty clean.

  2. CSE/Olevel says:

    I know your memory is bad so you won’t remember that Walmart does not sell guns any longer.

    • tannerleah says:

      CSE – That is just in certain places. They still do in places you have never heard of. But since you have never heard of those places, you just need to take my word for it.

  3. elizabeth3hersh says:

    My girls are telling me to get a life, that I comment too much, but I love your blog TL!! Your Wal-Mart reference struck a chord in me. I despise Wal-Mart and all it represents about America. I rue the loss of all of our mom-and-pop stores which made up the beautiful fabric of our country. You would be hard pressed to find someone who loves a bargain (and can find a bargain) more than me, but I will not succumb to the thriftiness of shopping at Wal-Mart. No siree Bruce…I mean Bob.

    • tannerleah says:

      Liz – Thank you for the compliment. Tell your girls to mind their own bees wax. I don’t like wal-Mart mostly because it is like a B horror movie where a genetics experiment went terribly wrong. Every malady known to man strolls up and down the aisles. Ewww….

  4. medivalia says:

    I read that it was only after bigger named acts started doing the Super Bowl half time shows that Bruce condescended to do the show. Before that even the Super Bowl was beneath him.

    • tannerleah says:

      medivalia – Thanks for the info. I guess the lesson is that you never really know what a person is really like unless you are on the inside. Imagine my shock, for instance, when I found out Freddie Mercury was gay. Who would have ever guessed?

  5. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Farrokh Bulsara was gay…never would have guessed. See what good can come out of Iran if their government wasn’t so oppressed? TL, can you post some photos of Wal-Mart and some mom-and-pops that I am e-mailing you separately so you can contrast the aesthetics of said establishments? If you ask me, life is imitating art.

Leave a Reply

