Paul Blart – Mall Cop. Damn You!!!

I went with the fam to see this movie today. It is a perfectly fine lightweight comedy. Kevin James does a great job as Blart. If you get a chance, it might be worth seeing. So why am I annoyed? Here’s why:

Now, for the rest of this weekend, I will have this ridiculous song rolling around in my head. There were a ton of other songs in the movie but this is the one that will haunt me. I was really kind of hoping that once the 70’s were over, I would never have to here another Barry Manilow song in my life. Don’t get me wrong…he is a fine musician and, if that is your cup of tea, then knock yourself out.

However, for those of us that had to endure these type of AM sappy songs as a youngster, even hearing them one more time is painful. So, please, play the video and share my pain.

One more thing. Whenever I see Kevin James I immediately think of Leah Remini. So I Wiki to see what she is up to these days and I am disturbed by what I read. When did Leah go all “Scientology”? She used to be so awesome on the King of Queens…well, until she got all blowed up being pregnant. Still, if you watch the older episodes, you can’t help but envy Doug. Fat dude with smoking hot wife. (Just like all shows that have the fat husband and the smoking wife. Pure comic genius and a gift to all of the husky men in America).

Whenever you shake off that Tom Cruise voodoo, Ms. Remini, you will be welcomed back onto my back up list.

Crap. I feel bad for punishing you with Barry. Here is a real mans song from the 70’s to clear your head out.

Isn’t he just dreamy?

4 Responses to Paul Blart – Mall Cop. Damn You!!!

  1. Enna says:

    You SHOULD feel bad for punishing us with Barry. Bastard.

    Btw, great blog you got here.

  2. Anonymous says:

    The 70s. Ahh, those were the days. Remember classics like Shannon by Henry Gross? Me and You and A Dog Named Boo by Lobo? I think the only thing that John McCain and I ever agreed on was that Abba’s Dancing Queen was actually a pretty good song.

    Okay seriously, I was more of an AC/DC, UFO, Black Sabbath, Styx and Rush fan but I can still appreciate the “easy listening” songs.

    • tannerleah says:

      Anon – Same here. I would replace Sabbath with Queen, at the time. (Sabbath was little too dark for me until I grew older).

      I guess the difference is that all of the “pop” tunes back then had good hooks or lyrics to them and you could secretly enjoy them. Most of those softer songs were performed by talented singer/songwriters and I think people can appreciate the skill and personal investment in them. Would I buy a Seals & Croft album? No, but you might catch me humming “Summer Breeze” every once in a blue moon.

      Maybe we knew them because we had one true source for our music, local radio, and they played them over and over and over. To the point that if I heard “Seasons in the Sun” one more time, someone was fixin to get hurt.

Leave a Reply

