Is Getting Dry Humped At The Store A Common Problem?

I ask the question because I have never heard of this before. However, after reading this article (http://www.ncwanted.com/ncwanted_home/story/4227818/) I am wondering if it is more common than you would think.

In this case, Cornelius Orlando Davis is accused of sexual battery against two women. (I guess I should also point out that Corny is a sheriff’s deputy in Warren County, NC). Anyway, the first complaint alleges that Cornelius rubbed his genitals twice against a woman as he attempted to reach around her and grab something off of the shelf. The second incident suggests he rubbed his genitals against the buttocks of a woman.

Now, he never whipped his thing out or anything and it doesn’t say whether he was chopping wood at the time. But I started thinking to myself, I have brushed up against people in the store a few times. (Fortunately, my stomach acts as a buffer zone so my junk doesn’t actually hit the other person). Still, is this really sexual battery? Shouldn’t I have to hump your leg a little, like a dog, before I get into trouble? Here is a pic of Cornelius:

corny

My guess is that, for these two women to have pressed charges, one of two things happened. They were either freaked out by the large black man or he really grinded on them. Supposedly, there is video evidence in both cases. I guess we will know once “The Smoking Gun” posts them.

In the meantime, I have a question. If a woman passing me in the store brushes her boobs against me is that sexual battery? I mean, I don’t think any guy would actually complain but it seems like there might be a double standard here. Or what if she accidentally rear ended me with a cucumber she was holding? That should definitely be assault. I remember, when I was younger, a beautiful buxom woman holding two cantaloupes up in front of her and asking me, “Do these melons look good?” Ok, that didn’t really happen but if it did, I would have a lawsuit, no?

I would be interested if any of you have ever had this happen to you. Did you realize at the time that it might be a sexual thing? Did you say something to the person or to law enforcement? I just need to know before I go out and buy one of those large, plastic sumo suits so I don’t have to worry about this. I don’t shop much but I sure as hell don’t want this type of pressure hanging over my head.

And for all of you guys that have been doing this, the free ride is over. You are going to need to head to crowded elevators to get your thrills. (Well crap, I guess I need to avoid those too).

7 Responses to Is Getting Dry Humped At The Store A Common Problem?

  1. Tanner, yes this is really sexual battery if it happens to you, and I know because it has happened to me, and I’m not using your blog just to get a free link. Having this happen to you is pretty f***king upsetting believe me, and I applaud anyone with the strength to report it. When it happened to me I didn’t have any strength at all.

    http://michelletack.squarespace.com/blog/2009/1/2/sheriffs-deputy-arrested-for-sexual-molestation-at-brier-cre.html

    • tannerleah says:

      Michelle – I am sorry to read about your experience. I guess this incident struck me as strange because a) I pretty much avoid crowded areas all of the time and b) I do so because I don’t like people in my personal space. (Looking for a hug? Go get it somewhere else).

      I can definitely see how it could happen frequently on a crowded subway or train…I just have never considered it. Again, sorry you had that experience.

  2. Aces-n-Eights says:

    When these sleazeballs bump and grind against unsuspecting women, it should be reported. I dont know anyone who could argue that.

    My question is the same as yours Tanner, what if it’s accidental? What if there was absolutely no intent to grope, feel, etc.? What if the lady was standing in front of his desired item for several minutes, and he couldnt wait any longer? What if he asked if she could move from his way, and she refused? Maybe these were not the circumstances, and the creep was looking for a cheap thrill…then I say “Book him Danno”, shame on him. But we will get into the dangerous area of “interpreting and determining intent”, and I dont like it when our laws hang around in gray areas.

    I think we’ll eventually have to get to a point where we simply cannot touch any other person, no matter how tight the confines, or there will be some sort of consequence. The future seems like a place where we can no longer say or do anything without the fear of lawsuits, or worse, prosecution. Or maybe the future is now?

  3. tackabery says:

    Fortunately in the matter of sexual battery, the law isn’t about intent. You are either battered or you aren’t. He was charged with battery, not assault. Assault doesn’t necessarily bear a scar or other evidence; i.e., you can verbally assault someone. In the case of battery, there has to be physical evidence. And it has to stand up in a court of law and a jury. There hasn’t been nearly enough reported in the media (and rarely ever is) about this case to make the jump to the assumption that we are living in a society where we can’t do anything without the fear of lawsuits.

    It is a flat misperception that we are a personally litigious society. If you only look at the use of the court system in this country, you’ll see that less than one tenth of one percent of court cases are for personal injury lawsuits. The majority of cases argued in court are corporate injury. You’re more likely to be sued for offending a corporation than another human being. I’m a lot more concerned about getting arrested for criticizing Coke in public than I am about accidentally rubbing up against someone in public.

  4. elizabeth3hersh says:

    This story reminded me of a phenomenon in Japan called Chikan (train groping). I find this fascinating since Japan has one of the lowest crime rates in developed nations and some of the most unassuming and mannerly people in the world. Due to the extreme population density of Tokyo, they have “people pushers” who push you onto the trains during rush hour allowing very close proximity of the two sexes. For years, women were complaining of being fondled on the trains so a campaign was instituted: whenever a woman was molested, she was instructed to swiftly thrust her hand in the air and shout “Chikan” which translates into “groper”. To combat this ongoing social ill, “women only” cars are now available and liberally used. So TL, perhaps you can institute a US policy? What do we do/say when male junk brushes up against our female trunk?

    • tannerleah says:

      Well, I wish I could say that screaming or raising your hand would help but not in our passive culture. People would just stare at you. So, choice one for me would be to carry one of those small stun guns. If you suspect someone is purposely brushing up against you, tell them firmly to stop. If they don’t; stun them in the nads. That should do the trick. If you don’t want to carry a weapon, just knee them in the jewels…that will also work. Then, to cover yourself, file a police report.

      But to Aces point…a word of caution. Always sound a warning first. What you THINK may be happening may not be. I often carry rigid things in my pants (Screw drivers, rolls of coins, carrots, salami, etc.) So, warn first and then act. The only exception would be if you are alone. A warning might turn it into a full out assault. In this case, set phaser to stun and shock the daylights out of the bastard. Then, run for your life.

  5. Busted!!!!! That´s all I have to say. No I take that back. Two times, two times, two times BUSTED!!!!!! NOW I have nothing else to say.

Leave a Reply

