Hmm…Feed Starving Children Or Pay For Breast Implants?

Quite the conundrum if you are looking for a worthy charity to donate some holiday money to.  At this website, http://myfreeimplants.com, (which SD shared with me) you have a great opportunity to help the self esteem of a poor, small breasted woman. Sure, saving lives is kind of important but without self esteem, who even wants to live?

As near as I can tell, you pick a woman that you find attractive and donate some money which goes into a pool of money for her implants. Depending on what you donate, I think you get e-mails or maybe photo’s from the needy woman. I honestly don’t understand why you would give money to a complete stranger for a boob job but, apparently, many do.

I don’t want to judge these girls but the ones on the main page look relatively skeezy. (Maybe they are trying to look “seductive”). It’s a little bit of a mean spirited set up as even unattractive women can post on this site. I don’t know how I found it but I saw a link that had a girl that was up to around $42 after a full year. Wow, that must really make her feel good about herself.

Here is the bigger issue for me. While I understand why men like big boobs (bigger always equals better), I am not sure what is in it for women. Are you really so desperate for attention that this is the best plan you can come up with? I realize it is a body image thing and I am not trying to be critical but what is the mental payoff? Why is a man ogling your big chest a good thing?

Besides that, a lot of these implants just do not seem attractive to me. Here is a picture of a “success” story:

balloons

C’mon…it looks like two of the little monsters from Aliens have climbed into her chest and are about ready to burst out. (She does look a little like Sigourney Weaver). Personally, I don’t see anything attractive about this. Maybe they are just really, really new and they have to be broken in first. I don’t know.

I realize this is a bad example and I imagine a lot of women have had much more successful and natural looking results. Still, what if you don’t? Just Google “bad boob jobs” and take a look at some of the train wrecks. I just don’t see how it is worth it…even for free.

Still, I am a hypocrite because I like a robust bosom, like most men. So, I don’t know what the answer is. It just seems that science would have come up with a better, more natural way to do this. So, because it is the holiday season and I care, here is what I will do. Send me your “after” photos and I will tell you whether they look good or not. I am a very impartial judge so you can trust my opinion. (I am sure my wife will love this idea).

Anyway, I will step out of the way now and let Liz educate you on the dangers of breast implants…silicone or otherwise. Prepare for the firestorm.

EDIT: Per Liz’s request, Dr. Basil Singer (obviously gay)

basil

7 Responses to Hmm…Feed Starving Children Or Pay For Breast Implants?

  1. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Having been implanted (1982) and explanted (1995) and spending untold hours scouring the Internet on reputable web sites (Medline, research sites, etc) I consider myself somewhat an expert on this subject. I get the total evolutionary biology argument: look, nature designed us to be sexual beings and to look, well, desirable. Physical attraction is part and parcel to the whole procreation business. What I don’t get is why the brain (the real sex organ here) does not get more recognition for being S-E-X-Y. I can appreciate a buff or sculpted bod as much as the next guy, but that does not translate into reckless abandon if the brains don’t back up nature’s art. I’ll go a little (actually, a lot ) further here: the sexiest men on Earth, IMHO, are not sexy in the traditional sense, but are supersonically sexy due to their mental prowess. I offer: M.I.T. professor Seth Lloyd (who scores extra points for being a little eccentric), theoretical physicists Michio Kaku and Brian Greene, and a well deserved posthumous award to Carl Sagan. If I were a much younger woman, the top spot would be awarded to Basil Singer (Ph.D. in Quantum Chaos) of whom I have instructed TannerLeah to provide a photo (see what I mean girls?). Oops, lust can cause us to drift off topic. Back to the implant business: my advice is don’t do it, don’t do it, don’t do it! All those wasted hours spent sifting through anecdotal testimonials, research studies, medical journals…it all boils down to this: you are placing two substantially sized foreign objects in your body that don’t belong there. Why would you want to tax your immune system like that? I did, and I paid a hefty price: permanent disability. I have learned that sometimes it is our flaws (perhaps a less ample bosom) that make us so endearing and our assets (bigger brains) that are the real turn-on’s. Now let me get back to ogling Brian May’s photo in Bang!, the wonderful book TannerLeah gave me for Chanukah. Now, that is sexy.

    • tannerleah says:

      Amen, sister. If people would only appreciate me for my brain instead of my studly body. (A curse I must live with).

  2. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Comedians are sexy too!!

  3. Yup. I can’t believe there are actually women who signed up in that site. It’s degrading to women.

    • tannerleah says:

      Plastic – I was confused by your comment and then see your link to plasticsurgeryfortworth.org. Sarcasm? Irony? I thought I could find out if I clicked your link. So, I click it while on a break at a meeting today and the photo of the boobs covered by gloved hands popped up. Still confused I sat for a moment and pondered when a voice from over my shoulder says, “That’s interesting”. That voice just happened to be an HR Rep. You should really warn people when you post boob shots. A little NSFW would be helpful.

  4. andeeroo says:

    Twin problems for cosmetic surgeons in 2009

    Examine the wrinkles in the shrinking boob job biz!

    Read – Economy sagging and bustlines are drooping:
    andeeroo.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

