Just A Brief Timeout…

To say Merry Christmas to all of you. (For those of you that are non Christian, please substitute whatever holy day fills the bill. For you non-believers, you are going to burn in hell so I don’t care what you do).

I appreciate all of you that visit. Whether you are actively commenting to tell me how wrong I am on a variety of subjects or just lurking, I enjoy the feedback and attention. I also appreciate my family for indulging me this silliness and for allowing me some time to do it. They also disagree with most things I say but they understand my mental issues and are much more forgiving.

I hope all of you have someone to share your time with. If you don’t, just write me…I am happy to share my time with you. I know some people get bummed out over the holidays for a variety of reasons and I don’t want to see that happen. So, expect me to write something stupid later today or tomorrow. Rust never sleeps.

I love you all, even the lunatics, and hope you are having a great time.

Well, that was quite uncomfortable. Buh-Bye.

28 Responses to Just A Brief Timeout…

  1. sd says:

    Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang who kidnapped tannerleah??? Just kidding…I enjoy the blog and your twisted thoughts.

    Keep it up in ’09 (the blog too ;o))

    Love yah,
    SD

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Wow, did we just read the mushy and (dare I say, weepy) sensitive side of Tannerleah? All wrapped up in Christmas paper with a bow on top? Thanks for the treat TL! Ahhh, the beauty and power of the written word…it inspires, informs, astonishes, amuses and even infuriates, rattles and rankles…what a great way to get to know others.

  3. Tizzle says:

    Merry Christmas to you too, you big wussy.

  4. art vandelay says:

    Happy Holidays Tannerleah! What did you do on December 25th since you don’t believe in Jesus?

    • tannerleah says:

      Hi Art , I did what I always do when I have a holiday off due to some imaginary religious icon. I went to the local homeless shelter and pitched in…it makes me feel better.

      As far as I know, all of my Christian brothers and sisters reveled in gluttony on Christmas. You know, eating huge meals and wasting food. Buying a bunch of gifts that the other person doesn’t want, and won’t ever use. Doing their annual visit to church to “get right” with God. Basically, all the stuff that Jesus stands for and really cares about.

  5. art vandelay says:

    Are you agnostic or atheist?

    • tannerleah says:

      If you must label me (and as a religious person, you must) I would classify myself as agnostic.

      Robert Ingersoll summed it up nicely in a few sentences:
      “Is there a God? I do not know. Is man immortal? I do not know. One thing I do know, and that is, that neither hope, nor fear, belief, nor denial, can change the fact. It is as it is, and it will be as it must be. We can be as honest as we are ignorant. If we are, when asked what is beyond the horizon of the known, we must say that we do not know.”

  6. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Religious folk need to ask themselves why their beliefs are not taught in the school system. If the Bible were true, then that knowledge would be of MONUMENTAL importance (I cannot stress monumental enough). We are talking about eternal hell here. If I truly believed in eternal hell, then I would have no choice but to commit my life to proselytizing. I could leave no soul untouched by pleas for their conversion and I would work around the clock, more fervently and feverishly than any missionary. But wait, there are so many versions of the Bible, so many religions, and prophets to emulate. Why didn’t G-d streamline his vision for us? Perhaps Thomas Jefferson had it right in his belief in deism (check out http://www.deism.com for a brief introduction to this fascinating belief system). This may be a more palatable label for some. It doesn’t rule out G-d, just all the intermediaries.

    • tannerleah says:

      Wait a minute you Jewish hypocrite. Now you are NOT Jewish? Make up my mind.

      By the way, here is the part that religious people should read on that website: “Judaism, Christianity and Islam are all cults because their members suspend their God-given reason in order to believe or accept unreasonable dogmatic teachings and superstitions.”

      Yeah, I think calling all major religions “cults” should go a long way in winning them over.

  7. art vandelay says:

    Teaching religion in public schools would not be “politically correct.”
    You will find in most PRIVATE schools it is taught…the kind where tuition is $15,000 plus. Most educated people want this taught to their children–whether you choose to believe or not. Whether you believe the events in the bible happened or not you cannot deny the geographical evidence.
    The bible has a very simple straightforward message, it’s not all that complicated and it’s always immutable. From beginning to end every prophecy is fulfilled to the letter. Period.

  8. art vandelay says:

    Elizabeth–I do believe in eternal hell and that is a huge weight for me personally to carry around. Why do you think I take so much time to write all this on Tannerleah’s dumb blog?? (JK SMILEY). Truly, I’ve shed many tears over this. When do you want to go shopping?

    • tannerleah says:

      Art – what kind of man “cries” over a make believe hell? You cry when your team loses or a loved one dies…but hell? Please. Worst case scenario I will be there and I am generally a pretty good time. So stop your blabbering.

  9. elizabeth3hersh says:

    I just had the pleasure of having two missionaries from the Latter Day Saints of Jesus Christ (Mormons) come to my door (yes, I know, it’s a sign from G-d) and ask me if they could sing me a song about Israel. Apparently they were astute observers of the mezuzah on my door. The song and delivery were so lovely, that I asked for their permission to videotape them. I like and respect the Mormons because they are out there every day in their starched white shirts and riding their bicycles pounding the pavement and proselytizing. They back up what they believe. But that is not why I am commenting on TL’s blog today. In the FAB book I received on Chanukah, there is a wonderful intro that I would like to share: “In astronomy, models come and go. The evidence is not yet all in, so we would be amazed if in a few years time our book would not need to be substantially re-written. But, the story we tell in these pages constitutes what most astronomers believe to be a good model” Did you hear that? “Substantially re-written!” What are they saying in a nutshell? That they are willing to suspend beliefs as new evidence emerges! I will let TL take it from here…

  10. art vandelay says:

    I have a mezuzah on my front door (actually all my doors)…little trinket from the holy land. Elizabeth I did not know you were Jewish….I presume you believe in at least the Old Testament? The Mormons are lost…Joseph Smith??? WTF. Okay the jig is up..Art is just my stage name..I’m female and yes, I truly cry for people that do not know the Lord. My dad had a massive heart attack yesterday and it was interesting to see my family members come to the “holy roller” in the family to pray fervently. By the true grace of God he is still with us. TL I admire your work on Christmas at the shelter…however the good samaritan doesn’t always make it to heaven. Still wanna go shopping Liz. Oh and TL you the geographical evidence is inarguable..that really pisses you off doesn’t it??

    • tannerleah says:

      Art, I am truly sorry to hear about your dad. You credit the “grace of God” and I will not dispute that. I hope it was. On the other hand, I don’t know what geographical evidence you could possibly believe that does not include the existence of dinosaurs…which I think is a no-no in present day Christian theology.

      Oh, and I must come clean on the shelter thing. Never happened. But I appreciate your admirations for made up stories. I can see a trend here.

      One last thing. Since you are now a female, was that a surgical thing or more of a cross dressing issue?

  11. art vandelay says:

    Liz one other thing about your last post…I too am open to “reviewing new evidence as it emerges”….if they ever find the lost bones of Jesus I’m outta here!

  12. Aces-n-Eights says:

    “I appreciate your admiration for made up stories. I can see a trend here.” I havent laughed that hard since I saw someone prop up a plastic Santa Clause inside of their nativity scene (I think he was the one who brought the frankincence?)

    And speaking of Jolly Ole Saint Nick….why do Christians scoff at the plausibility of such a man who can deliver presents to all of the worlds children via a sleigh pulled by reindeer, but ferevently believe in a god who knows all, sees all, and hears all? It’s a rhetorical question, no need to try and help me understand…I think I get it 🙂

    Have a safe holiday all!

  13. art vandelay says:

    I have a friend that believes Santa was made up by Satan to distract people from the true meaning of Christmas–Christ’s birth. Unscramble the letters of Satan…hmm….
    I don’t necessarily believe that but I did receive a nifty gift and it has Santa bowing before baby Jesus. Love that because you know EVERY knee will bow before the Lord someday, including Santa, SATAN, and yes, you Mr. Tannerleah! By geography I mean the physical places (Jordan River, Sea of Galilee, etc, Garden of Eden (which is actually Iraq today…hell I saw the cave where the dead sea scrolls were discovered!) were all in the bible. I do believe Dinosaurs did exist however I don’t think they roamed in Babylon or I believe it would’ve been mentioned in the bible. Why do you believe in Dinosaurs–you never saw one with your own two eyes???

    • tannerleah says:

      Wow Art…A lot for me to take in. First, that whole “kneel before me” thing. Doesn’t that strike you as arrogant? My God would never demand people bow before him/her. We would all sit side by side sharing a cold beverage.

      I know other books that have physical places in them. Stephen King writes frequently about Maine (which I have personally seen). Do you think “Christine” or the clown from “It” are going to show up anytime soon?

      And, yes, I have personally seen dinosaurs. Both at the museum and on the Flintstones. Those are 2 irrefutable sources.

  14. art vandelay says:

    Regarding the sexual orientation issue, my closest friends call me Pat

  15. Aces-n-Eights says:

    I’m going to write a story about seeing Santa in Columbus, OH (inarguable geographical evidence). That will certainly prove he exists! Thanks for the tip Art. 🙂

  16. elizabeth3hersh says:

    “Art”, I echo TL in wishing your father a speedy recovery and yes, we can go shopping sometime. So you are not a dude…surprise, surprise! I love surprises…I just found out that SD is a relative of mine (how cool is that!)? However, I am even more surprised that TL did not go for the jugular in the dinosaur remarks. The Bible does not mention dinosaurs because they roamed the earth 65-230 million years ago. The Bible was only written thousands of years ago. Yet, Biblical literalists will have you believe the earth is 6,000 years old. I rest my case.

    Trying to educate fundamentalists will be a futile enterprise if readers do not bone up on their science (no reading required!!…there is educational programming on TV galore!). The younger the person is when they are inculcated with religion, the slimmer the prospects of educating them later in life. You were hard-wired to believe by your parents and community. Religious dogma thwarts critical thinking. Science, educational advances and technological gains in the next few centuries will catapult us into a whole new world. Try watching NextWorld on the Science Channel.

    Carl Sagan agreed with TL on the kneeling business. He, too, thought that was absurd. Makes me wonder whether Neanderthals and all the other hominid species that roamed the earth (and which we have fossil evidence for) will have to “kneel” too?

  17. art vandelay says:

    I bet Carl Sagan wouldn’t believe the whole “walking on water” or “turning water into wine” stunts either—(wouldn’t Jesus be SO handy at a party?!) I wasn’t brought up in any religion–it kind of found me in my late 30’s. I would never deny science and like I’ve said before, I’m not interested in a God that science can prove. I used to feel the same way you and TL did and then I took a 4 year study on OT/NT and my head popped out of my ass and I got it. It all makes PEFECT sense to me. I had just as many questions/doubts before I actually got a bible out and found out what was in it. Thanks for the well-wishes for my father–he’s home and seems to be doing pretty well. Liz, you look so pretty in your pic! We better go shopping before Obama takes all of my husband’s paychecks next year!

    • tannerleah says:

      Art – I obviously have all kinds of problems with your statement. First, you say you found God in your late 30’s…that means you are probably now in your mid 40’s. Thanks for totally ruining my “hot, young and woefully misguided” fantasy.

      Second, if my head is, in fact, up my a**, that would explain why my hearing is frequently muffled.

      Lastly, I heard a great quote recently, “A little less Jesus and a little more morphine”. That is the stuff that legends are made of.

  18. art vandelay says:

    Jesus + Morphine = Heaven

Leave a Reply

