Gay People…Rick Warren Is Not Your Problem

I understand that gays are not happy with the fact that Warren does not support gay marriage but why all of the vitriol? About 90% of other Christian pastors feel exactly the same way. Do you think if Barry was still on good terms with Jeremiah Wright that he would be singing the praises of the gay community? Look, they had to pick someone so Warren is as good as anyone else that is available. (Except for Jerry Falwell but that ship has sailed).

I realize that every group wants Obama to cater to their specific needs but I think he has shown that he is not going to do it. I appreciate that part of him rather than see it as a bad thing. Most politicians whore themselves to every group out there and then completely renege on their promises. Barry just tried to pick a guy that spoke to the masses. Like it or not, Warren is just such a guy.

Besides that, who cares who delivers the invocation? If you had a gay priest do it, do you think that the voters in California would all of the sudden change their minds and support gay marriage? Of course not. The gay community must simply make the case that this is a civil rights issue and do it in a calm and positive manner. When and if you can get straight people to see it through a civil rights prism, I have little doubt that the legislation will be passed…as it should. So settle your strident selves down and be nice.

Let me change course for a moment. While I was trying to research Rick Warren and his Brokeback Church, I visited a number of forums to see what people were saying. Here is what I found on one site:

chubby

In the immortal words of John McEnroe, “You cannot be serious!” C’mon my gay peeps, Gay Chubby Dating? Are you kidding? Is there also a Gay Slightly Thin Dating site or possibly the Gay Morbidly Obese Dating venue? This is the kind of stuff Bible thumpers see that makes them convinced that the “end days” are near. (At least those Bible thumpers that lurk on gay message boards).

Sorry I got off target but seeing that ad was, without question, the highlight of my day. I thought this ad was going to be my highlight but it doesn’t hold a candle to the Chubby thing.

exgays

You see? No need to change the marriage laws because, as it turns out, you gays are apparently just going through a phase. A little prayer and then, BANG! You ladies will be getting busy with Chubby Don in no time!

Back to my original point. Let the Pastor Rick thing go. Spend your energy on asking the real question to your Bible carrying brethren, “Why am I any less of a human being than you?” There is no answer and, if you ask the question often enough, I think you will make the progress you are hoping to make.

Glad I could solve this problem and you are welcome for my help. Now, I am off to surf for Chubby Lipstick Lesbian Dating!

14 Responses to Gay People…Rick Warren Is Not Your Problem

  1. Doug says:

    Maybe “chubby”, in this case, refers to the male nether regions rather than body mass. Why do we need a mass anyway? When are we going to get our first atheist or agnostic president?

    • tannerleah says:

      Doug – That must be a gay term. Straight men would never refer to their manhood as “chubby”. We use terms like torpedo, steel rod, etc. You know…manly stuff.

      You will never see an avowed atheist or agnostic president. (Although you have to think that it has probably already happened. My money is on Nixon). Too much money in religion to let a heathen take over. Praise Jesus.

  2. RhondaCoca says:

    Tannerleah,

    Yes you ignorance is simply grand. I did not bother to read past the first few sentences since you made this big faux pas…

    “Do you think if Barry was still on good terms with Jeremiah Wright that he would be singing the praises of the gay community? ”

    Well, welll, well, do research next time: Jeremiah A Wright Jr. supports equal rights for the GLBT community. United Church of Christ which is the denomination that Trinity United Church of Christ is a part of performs and recognizes same sex marriages.

    Continue…

    • tannerleah says:

      Rhonda – Really? You are correct, you caught me with my pants down on this one. I just guessed that since Rev Wright hated whitey so much he would probably hate gays as well. Who’d a thunk it? And before you say he doesn’t hate whitey, I have definitely seen and read enough about him to know better.

      Would you mind proofing some of my other posts? I do tend to be a bit lazy on my reasearch. Thanks.

      Oh, and you really should read the rest of the post. Did you know there is a website for Chubby Gay Dating? It’s awesome!

  3. art vandelay says:

    Barack Obama is not a Godly man that is why I was stunned to see Rick Warren decide to do the invocation. Apparently Rick Warren cares more about the spotlight than standing up for what is Godly. Huge disappointment for me.

    • tannerleah says:

      Wow. Really? You honestly do hate the black/Muslim man, don’t cha Art?

      I thought you would be more agitated by Warren blaring to the world, “I love gays!” I knew that would make Christians throughout America shudder.

  4. art vandelay says:

    I don’t HATE Obama…he just scares the hell out of me.
    The bottom line is he is not a Godly man and I personally want someone who is running my country.
    I have 3 very dear friends who are gay…I love them dearly but I still try to pray the gay out of them nightly!

    • tannerleah says:

      Art – Why is he not a “Godly man”? What is he doing, or not doing, that earns him that dishonor?

      If you have 3 gay friends, you are probably playing for the wrong team. You need to switch sides and accept that you are either a pitcher or a catcher. Don’t be ashamed…embrace your homo-ness.

  5. ok well I am gay and I (politely) disagree with you. My comment below kind of touches on a lot of issues, but it does explain why I think that it is totally messed up that Obama chose Rick Warren for the inaugural invocation:

    If you are a progressive person living in California, Prop 8 winning stings. Its a slap in the freaking face. I say progressive instead of gay, because progressive people in general, gay or straight understand that Prop 8 affects everybody. People are born gay. And those who are not born gay but end up in same gender relationships were born open to being with another human being because of the person that they are at their core, which has nothing at all to do with gender. Also, I used the term ‘progressive’, because there are a lot of forward thinking and open minded straight people out there who realize that if they have a child and their child is gay (which would not be an issue for them, because they are open minded people), then their child would not be able to marry the person that he or she truly loved and wanted to be with. So Prop 8 affects straight people too. Oh, and I also want to add that gay people are not colorless. Its not like there are black, white, indian, chinese, mexican, vietnamese, and gay people. Gay people are of ALL colors, creeds, cultures, etc. In a state like CA where 50% of the population is non-White, you have a state where at least half of the gay people are also from ‘minority’ communities.

    Even though this is just an invocation, religion and spirituality are important to a lot of people. The person who is chosen to bless Obama as he steps into office is important. If you are a spiritual person, then you put some faith into ritual, because rituals and symbols help you focus your energies on something, and focusing your energies on something can lead to something really powerful. For a person who is openly bigoted toward gay people to be giving the invocation for Obama is hurtful to all the gay people who worked hard on the Obama campaign by going to canvass in Nevada, joining the campaign, donating money to Obama, and basically giving him their time, money and energy instead of the fight against Prop H8. People did this, because literally nobody progressive thought that Prop 8 would pass. It probably wouldn’t have if the No on 8 campaign had done a better job, but the pretty much ran a horribly planned campaign.

    Prop 8 passing made it blatantly obvious to a lot of people that there are a lot of people out there who are really backwards thinking. Yes, I think it is backward to be ‘against’ gay marriage. I dont even understand how you can be against gay people. That makes no sense to me. How can you be against gay people? that’s like being against babies, or against tall people. Gay people exist. They always have, and they always will, no matter how much hate is directed toward them. Gay people have been around in every society and culture. Regardless of what some gay hating person out there in the world thinks, I will continue to be who I am, love my partner, live with her, cherish her, build a home and family with her, etc. If someone out there thinks that is weird, well frankly, I could care less. Gay haters become problematic, however, when they get to vote on my life. They don’t know me. They will never know me. And because they hate this idea of ‘gay’ they think they can hate me too. But this to me is a bunch of bullsh***. So, when Prop 8 passed, people all around the state felt like Wow–the people of California dont’ know me or care about my life whatsoever, except for the fact that they have this idea in their heads about gay being bad, and so they vote against it. Well we pay taxes, we work hard, we vote, why should our abilities to take part in social norms that are important to us too be less than another person? I mean, marriage shouldn’t even be regulated by the state, but it is, so why should my being able to be married depend on the vote of some person out there?

    Maybe if Prop 8 had never been on the ballot and Obama had chosen Rick Warren, it would have been a different issue. But the fact is that Prop 8 passed and there are many people that are hurting. It is just totally insulting.

    America is super religious. Many Americans are Christian, but not all Americans, and this is not an officially Christian country. Rick Warren is a bigot. Obviously Obama would never in a million years have picked a Hindu, Jew, Buddhist, or god forbid a Muslim. But, even within the pool of Christians, there are PLENTY of non-bigoted pastors out there. Where did you get your estimate of 90% that you cited? Did you make that statistic up? That is not good journalism. But my point is here that why couldn’t Obama have picked someone less to the Right? In this big giant diverse country full of all sorts of faiths, I find it difficult to believe that he couldn’t have found someone closer to the center to do the invocation.

    So yeah, I think its messed up that Obama chose Rick Warren, and I think it is disrespectful to a lot of people. Its not a huge deal, and I still look forward to his Presidency with hope and all of that, but I think it is messed up and I think he should be criticized for it. I don’t understand why we have to keep pandering to the Right. The future is progression and open-mindedness. This is inevitable, and it is what our Constitution was founded on. To think otherwise would be unpatriotic, I think.

    And my last comment is that I find it totally ridiculous that mainstream society can accept War, death and destruction as a part of life. We say that it has always been around and always been a part of society. It is necessary, etc. (see John McCain’s speeches). But gay people have always been present in society, and in EVERY society, even if they have soemtiems or often existed at the fringes. But what is being gay? All that it is is love. It is one person loving another person, and being attracted to someone of the same gender. Why? Well, because they prefer the way their own gender looks, thinks, feels. I think that the reasons a person enjoys same gender relationships is comparable to why someone would enjoy being in a relationship with someone of the same culture, race, religion, etc. You have certain ways of thinking and experiencing things in common. In a same gender relationship, you get to be around your same energy – I like being around women, I like the feminine energy/vibe/whatever you call it. I prefer it to masculine energy. Not saying masculine is bad, I just personally prefer feminine.

    So that’s it. Thanks for reading this comment.

  6. p.s. you did have me cracking up at those images you posted haha

  7. Oh and last comment, Art – I too want to know what your definition of a ‘godly’ man is. Also, who are you to judge whether or not someone is Godly? Who gave you that authority? I would imagine that a judgment of that magnitude should not even be something allowable for a pastor to make, and especially not now in 2009 when there are so many differing conceptions of what it is that is ‘godly.’

  8. Adamafrakfest says:

    I came upon a very nice novel called Sodom’s x a song for the end by K.R.COLUMBUS a nice sci-fi novel . Mind you it has more than 2 gay fat characters in it and they are all unique and the sex scenes are great.
    check the plot – As predicted by Isaac Newton the second coming happened and as the world waited to see what was about to happen an appointed man was sent to meet God, hours later God had vanished and the man came out immortal; no apocalypse, no destruction and no salvation. This gave birth to a chain of holy wars that almost chattered Earth’s civilizations and so giving birth to a mass colonization of planets to ensure peace by separation. Thousands of years later all was at peace by until Endings were born; humans connected to their planets in such a way that they are capable of destroying them should they wish it. Now Earth’s Ending has been born and the day to pass judgment draws near.
    it can be found here

    http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/sodoms-x–a-song-for-the-end-/7182389

    Apart from that it is very hard to find

  9. HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA omg….

Leave a Reply

