RIP Bettie Page: What Am I Missing?

50’s pinup model Bettie Page has passed away. Sad but not terribly surprising considering she was 85 years old.

Obit Bettie Page

Here’s the thing. While I agree that Bettie was an attractive woman, what is the fascination with her? I mean what is it about her that made her a bit of an icon? It certainly can’t be her looks alone. For instance, when you see photos of Marilyn Monroe, she is absolutely breathtaking. I get that. Bettie, on the other hand, looks like just another attractive woman.

Is that it? The fact that she is more approachable or attainable? Is it because she was the “dirty” girl that dressed in black and did faux bondage pictures? I honest to God don’t get it.

I have read that her life was interesting and she had some mental health issues but this seems to have happened after she became a celebrity. I love the story of how she made her stepchildren pray to a painting of Jesus while she held a knife on them. That is classic.

Anyway, I will accept that I am the one missing out here. If the masses loved Bettie, so be it. I just wish I knew why the hell they did.

9 Responses to RIP Bettie Page: What Am I Missing?

  1. squirrel says:

    You should have watched the movie about her with mom and me. It was kind of interesting and sad, and then maybe you would understand a little better.

  2. tannerleah says:

    Hmm…I don’t remember being invited to that gathering.

  3. Doug says:

    I have to agree with your assessment. Bettie’s like a 15 in blackjack. As in, I’m not sure whether I’d hit it or not.

  4. tannerleah says:

    Yeah, She’s not bad looking but I have no urge to grab the Kleenex box or surf the net looking for her pics. Maybe women in the 50’s were really, really ugly. So, compared to them, she was smoking.

  5. art vandelay says:

    Let’s face it, it’s because she’s a brunette.

  6. tannerleah says:

    I still say it has something to do with the bondage thing. There is no other reasonable explanation.

  7. elizabeth3hersh says:

    We will all be asking ourselves these exact same questions when Madonna passes.

  8. tannerleah says:

    Bingo!

  9. Stephen says:

    Marilyn had a common quality to her looks. On the other hand, Bettie was a unique beauty with a startling glow of health to her eyes, hair, and skin. She had the most enthusiastic smile of all and let us not forget her incredibly flat stomach and tiny waist with round, feminine hips. Also, Bettie was a poor Southern girl who lived through the Depression and walked to school in no shoes. Despite this she was on the drama club, the debate team, edited the school paper, and made straight A’s. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

