Seems The Whole “Black President” Thing Is Not Going Over So Well In Certain Places.

Since Barack Obama’s election, here are a few of the heart warming stories that have surfaced across this great nation.

  • 4 North Carolina State students wrote, “Let’s shoot that ni**er in the head” in a tunnel designated for free speech.
  • In Standish Maine a betting pool titled the “Osama Obama Shotgun Pool” was offered for a mere $1 per entry. At the bottom of the poster, it says, “Let’s hope someone wins”.
  • 2nd and 3rd grade students on a school bus in Rexburg, Idaho chanted, “assassinate Obama”. (Good job parents…you should be so proud of yourselves).
  • Crosses were burned in the yards of Obama supporters in Hardwick, N.J. and Apolacan Township, Pa.

And the list goes on and on. My vote for most original hate crime belongs to Snelville, GA. where Denene Millner’s sister-in-law, a black Obama supporter, had her lawn trashed and 2 pizza boxes full of human feces left at her front door. (It would seem that the sister-in-law did not really want to talk about the incident). Filling up two pizza boxes with feces requires the kind of commitment that few people possess. As racists go, this group was clearly full of crap. (Please, no groaning).

So for all of the talk that we have somehow moved past racism in America, let’s not kid ourselves. Granted, most racism is much more subtle but it is still alive and well. We could make a similar list about other intolerence based on race, sexual preference, religion, body shape, etc. It is a staple of who we are as humans. We are somehow genetically wired to “hate” some group…or at least feel they are inferior to us.

Will the day come that we ever move past this? I doubt it. As long as there is a class system in the world, someone will always want what someone else has. Even if you addressed all of the issues above, new forms of discrimination would emerge. Thin people would hate fat people. (Oh wait, that one already exists). How about people with blue eyes and blond hair would hate those with brown eyes and brown hair? Eh…I think that one already happened as well.

So, the truth is, we are stuck with it. Barack HUSSEIN Obama offered a serious speech on the subject in his campaign in which the vast majority of Americans covered their ears and said, “lalalalalalalala, I can’t hear you”. We are more comfortable in acting like hatred is an abhorrence rather than a staple of life. As long as we feel this way, people will be getting pizza boxes of poop left at their doors. (Back in the day, you put dog poop in a paper bag, lit it on fire and rang the doorbell. Ah, the good old days).

Oddly enough, the most obvious discrimination these days is paid for, and aimed at, good old white folks. That’s right…I am talking to you, cracker. If you watch TV, you will see that women are inferior to the thin, large busted actresses and models they should compare themselves to. (Although, I must say that the “big boob” thing seems like a reasonable aspiration). And for men? Well, you are impotent, constantly having to go to the bathroom, better get a beer to have a chance with the ladies, losers. And the beautiful part of this system is that those being targeted get stuck with the bill.

If you ever see a commercial that says, “Hey, you know what? We think you are ok just the way you are”, you will know we have reached nirvana. In the meantime; men, do something about that thinning hair and women, get to work on those flabby thighs.

Let me leave you with the eloquent words of native Georgian (and white man) Grant Griffin: “I believe our nation is ruined and has been for several decades and the election of Obama is merely the culmination of the change. If you had real change it would involve all the members of (Obama’s) church being deported.”

Amen, brother Griffin, amen. Words that Jesus himself might have spoken…well, if he wasn’t a black man.

With all of our racial harmony, do you suppose this skit from 1975 would be apprpriate today?

http://www.hulu.com/watch/1477/saturday-night-live-word-association

13 Responses to Seems The Whole “Black President” Thing Is Not Going Over So Well In Certain Places.

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Neuroscience will ultimately address why we are hard-wired for racism as there seems to be a neurological basis for it. The fields of sociobiology and evolutionary psychology also shed some light on the matter. It obviously served some evolutionary advantage for our preservation as a species. Tribalism was the first social system humans lived in. Ethnocentricity imparted a higher survival rate. Tribal loyalties and ethnocentricity are fiercely adhered to today all over the world. I don’t know anyone who embraces multiculturalism as much as I do and yet I would be a liar if I claimed I had no racist leanings. I do and I try and deal with it in the best unbiased manner I can muster up (although sometimes my racism is reinforced and it CAN be a struggle for me). Why must we either be a racist or pretend that we are not? Are there really people who are truly unbiased in the innermost secret sanctuaries of their minds?

  2. Ben says:

    Too bad the pool in Standish was reported as something it wasn’t.
    It was reported as an “assasination pool”, it wasn’t.
    It was a tongue in cheek copy of a previous pool that NO ONE objected to about then president elect Bill Clinton. That pool was based on someone making an attempt on the president, NOT on them being successful. Any monies collected on the Clinton pool that were not “won” because the secret service did a good job were donated to charity.

    Just because the new president is African American people took it as a racial hate mongering act. WRONG any democratic president would have received the same silliness. The media has seized on it without checking their facts and suddenly people think the town is a racist bastion, amazing. I’ve heard of “dead pools” in Las Vegas where you can bet on the next celebrity who will pass on….that’s morbid to the max but I don’t hear any public outcry over that. People still have a lot to learn as far as overreacting to perceived affronts to their sensibilities, there are those times when you just accept another’s right to freedom of speach and exercise your right to shake your head and just walk away.

  3. tannerleah says:

    Ben – How dare you come in here with your level headed thinking and pragmatic approach to this issue!

    While I agree with your 2nd paragraph, the 1st one lost me a bit. I think any pool on killing the President is probably ill thought out…charity or not.

    I suppose you will also turn a blind eye to the BLACKberry phone. Don’t think for a second I don’t understand the racial undertones in the name. The BLACKberry is a SLAVE to get your information. I am disgusted.

  4. andrew says:

    Hey, if I voted for Obama, does that mean I get to say “I’m not racist” to everyone? Conversely, if I didn’t, am I stuck being a racist for the rest of my life? The self-congratulatory sentiment from white Obama supporters is a little tiresome and pathetic I think. Too bad Condi wasn’t a nominee, then I could get the racism AND sexism thing off my conscience with the same vote!

  5. art vandelay says:

    I’m tired of all the whining about racism. Yes, it still exists in the world of the ignorant folk but I don’t want to hear anymore about it. Soon the most powerful man in the world will be BLACK and the most powerful woman in the world is BLACK. (Oprah).

    Stop saying we’re a racist nation when we’ve collectively elected a BLACK MAN TO BE THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES.

    As much as I disagree with O’s vision for the future of our USA, I’m ecstatic a black man could be elected to this high office. Now stop bitching about racism..you don’t have a leg to stand on. You didn’t hear me cryin’ when Sarah Palin was dangling by a noose out in LA?.
    My nerves already.

    Art

  6. Change is never, ever simple, quick or easy, my friend. What has taken place was destined to happen at some point. Conditions dictated this to be that point. It’s good. We’ve cleared a formalized hurdle. People, however, aren’t hurdles. People’s feelings, values and beliefs are the result of behavioral conditioning over time. It takes eight times longer to break a habit than to form it in the first place. Consider that fact when you express surprise at the completely predictable indignation out there today.
    As the old saying goes “This too shall pass”. And, oh, by the way…it you’d ever lived in the deep south, you’d better understand the process.

  7. tannerleah says:

    Andrew – yes you are racist. Deal with it.

    Art – Ecstatic? Really? Did your legs go all wobbly when HUSSEIN won? And, actually, I have THREE legs to stand on. One is only SLIGHTLY shorter than the other two. Racist.

    Champ – I lived in Florida. Is that the deep south? As I recall, we did not like black folk so I think it does. You are correct, I will give my racist friends some time to come to grips with their feelings.

  8. art vandelay says:

    Okay, “ecstatic” was a wrong choice of words perhaps.
    I am NOT a racist (although could become one if they don’t stop whining)
    I would’ve loved nothing more than to see a Colin Powell/Condoleeza Rice ticket.
    My best friend from childhood was BLACK and are you ready for this—MUSLIM! Gasp!
    So there. Put that in your pipe and smoke it…oh wait! I’m the one with the pipe!

  9. tannerleah says:

    Art – Did you really just play the “I had a black friend when I was a kid” card. Wow, that is weak.

    When I was a kid, I had a friend that was part black, Asian, Indian, European, Eskimo and Albino. Plus he was blind, deaf, dumb, fat, smelled bad and had acne. Did I cover everyone?

    Colin Powell is grey and I don’t know what the hell CONDOLEEZA is. You hate the name HUSSEIN but CONDOLEEZA is ok? Whatever.

    And what do you mean “if THEY don’t stop whining”? Racist.

  10. art vandelay says:

    Hibba Abugideiri
    google her
    outstanding individual with QUITE the resume

    I never said I hated the name Hussein….I mean, I got stuck with Vandelay for crying out loud.

  11. tannerleah says:

    First of all, in the picture I found, Hibba doesn’t look black. You said your “black friend”. At best, I would say she is medium brown.

    Also, she is wearing one of those head scarf things. Do the math. Brown skin + head scarf + Muslim = terrorist.

    Wow, this is the crowd you run with?

  12. An Educator says:

    Maine has a problem with hate crime. This incident is scary, and the fact that the store owner has “gone fishing” and left the town to deal with this…well, I love the town of Standish and have lived in Maine all my life. I am also a teacher and I heard this coming the day after the elections when I addressed inappropriate racist remarks from my high school students. Where did they learn such hate and pessimism? I’m sad that this incident has occurred, let alone how it has impacted the rest of the nation’s view of “Vacationland”!!!! Ignorance is not bliss! Maine voted for Obama so this incident is not free speech, it is hate speech spoken by the ignorant! Sadly, those who spoke are my neighbors and the parents of my students.

  13. tannerleah says:

    Educator – Here is the part I truly don’t understand about racism in the north. I was in Maine a few weeks ago and saw a handful of blacks, at most. Why is there such a strong hate when the people that you hate are nowhere to be found?

    I observed the same thing when I lived in Spokane WA. This intense racism when the black population was virtually non-existent. Hell, there were a lot more Asian Americans there. Why not hate them? I honestly don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

