A Mini Rant On “Giving” And “Taking”

Some of us in the world are just naturally givers. It’s somehow part of our DNA and we can’t help ourselves. Many of us are also optimists and can always find the good in any situation. We are, essentially, the wind beneath humanity’s wings. We create a more intellectual, spiritual and beautiful world. Also, we tend to be incredibly humble. We do not gloat about our contributions nor take credit for making this a better planet to live on.

Then, of course, there are the takers. These are the people that always look for what is wrong with something rather than what is right. i can think of several people, for instance, that are more interested in correcting my grammar or spelling rather than soaking in the beauty and depth of the messages I share with you all. These are the same folks that would say to Gandhi, “Yeah, you seem like a nice guy but you sure are skinny”.

These are also the same folks that would look at the painting above and say, “Gee, Mike…I mean it’s a nice painting and everything but doesn’t the guy on the left kind of have a small ding-ding?”

I am telling you. There is simply no pleasing some people! So, instead of attacking my “art”, why not contribute to the process instead of sucking the life out of it? I get it, once or twice in 110 or so posts, I might have misspelled a word. But, instead of focusing on that, why not focus on the number of lives that have been saved by reading this blog. Isn’t that more important?

Ok, maybe saving lives is a tad too much hyperbole but I know I have saved marriages and helped people earn millions. Again, i hate to have to brag but I need to defend those of us that make the world a better place to live in. We are basically walking sunshine, wrapped in puppy fur, smelling (like Sarah Palin) of fresh baked cookies. Stop harshing our mellow!!!

Thank you for your time. Yours, every so humbly,

Tannerleah

9 Responses to A Mini Rant On “Giving” And “Taking”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Capitalize your “i’s” damn it!

  2. tannerleah says:

    Elizabeth =’s Missing big picture.

    No surprise really…what with your love of science and other emotionally detached subject matter. You need to embrace your humanity and stop harshing my mellow.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I’m (i’m?) playing with you. Actually, scientists can get choked up by the beauty, simplicity and intricacy of an equation or new discovery. I personally get a surge of emotion when considering such things as nanotechnology, the Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle (did you know that a particle can be in an infinite number of places AT THE SAME TIME?), Bell’s Theorem, Schrödinger’s cat (this will make you think), and my favorite: the personal fabricator (wish I could live to see this because I hate leaving the house). Sorry I harshed your mellow dude. Mea culpa.

  4. tannerleah says:

    “Mea culpa”? Don’t be speaking your fancy french words around here.

    I get a surge when I look at Sarah Palin pictures. Oh, and also the Sphincterdoodle Theorem of Quantum Douchebagedness. (Very complicated stuff)

  5. Elizabeth says:

    It’s Latin.

  6. tannerleah says:

    As if that’s a real language.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    It’s nécessaire (there, I used a real French word) for pharmacists, doctors and attorneys. For example: a priori, vox populi, pro bono, modus operandi, ex libris, e pluribus unum, pro re nata, carpe diem and my all time personal favorite “persona non grata” (that would refer to my latest ex-husband).

  8. SD says:

    Gitter done….

  9. tannerleah says:

    SD – NOW you’re speaking my language.

Leave a Reply

