The Next “Great Depression”

Most of you who know me realize that I am 1) a people person and 2) an incredible optimist. I can’t help it; it’s just who I am. However, as I considered the current economic fallout as the stock market took a nose dive earlier today, I thought to myself, “What’s the worse that could happen?”

I went back and brushed up on the Great Depression. For the most part, it is described as a very bleak period in time. I wasn’t there, so I have to take their word for it. The problem is, when I look at some of the pictures from that era, I get a different feeling. (Again, that optimism of mine shining through). For instance, take a look at this photo:

The first thing I see is a sign that says “free donuts”. Are you kidding me? How awesome would it be to get free dounts everyday? As Homer Simpson would say, “mmmm…donuts.” How could anyone be depressed while munching on free donuts?

Ok, so let’s say (God forbid) you don’t like donuts. What else do we see in the picture? Look at how nice all of the men are dressed. I always wanted to wear one of those cool Clark Gable hats. Plus, all of these “poor” people have super nice trench coats. Hardly anyone rocks the trench coat look anymore which is a crying shame. Our dress code would actually improve over what it is today!

Plus, you notice there are no women to be found. So, this is actually like some sort of club like The Elks or something. I belong to a couple of secret societies but this looks like it would be ok. These guys get to talk about sports everyday, wear cool clothes and, did I mention, eat donuts all day!!!

I am not going to lie. If this is what a great depression looks like, I say bring it on. Screw the bailout and bring on the donuts! (I hope they have Bavarian Creme, I love those things). 

   

4 Responses to The Next “Great Depression”

  1. squirrel says:

    Oh Dad, how I love your optimistic outlook on life. The things you don’t see in this picture are a computer and a television. So therefore you probably could not survive those times. Love you!

  2. UF says:

    Now tl looking closer I see the free donuts are for the unemployed. You employed people do not qualify. Are any of your secret societies accepting new members?

  3. tannerleah says:

    You might be right. I just couldn’t think straight when I saw the “free donuts” sign.

    I love you, too.

  4. tannerleah says:

    UF – Trust me, if I need to be unemployed to get in on this deal, I can make that happen. (If my company doesn’t do it for me).

    As to my secret societies, we are only accepting wealthy celebs at this time. (Well, we also have a slot for a female Alaskan Governor).

Leave a Reply

