Can Old(er) Women Please Stop Having Babies?

I really don’t understand the need for women over 40 to keep having babies. Didn’t you already have 20+ years to squirt one out if that was what you wanted to do? By waiting until you are over 40, you are significantly increasing the odds of complications plus you are going to be OLD by the time the kid is 10. What 10 year old wants a 50 year old mom? Or 20 year old a 60 year old mama? That’s just crazy.

To take it a step further, a 56 year old woman in Ohio became a surrogate mother for her daughter. This is just plain creepy to me. First, this nice elderly woman had the “seed” of her son-in-law put inside of her. Ewww, that’s just gross. Plus, look how old this woman looks:

I am sure she is a wonderful lady but, wow, that is just not right. I cannot imagine that Jesus is on board with this, at all.

The good news is that the babies seem to be healthy and I am glad for that. Plus, in spite of their elderly “real” mom, they have a pretty hot new mom:

 (photo’s from http://cosenotriplets.blogspot.com/)

Now, I am not a doctor but it seems like she was, or is going to, breastfeed the babies. Don’t you kind of need to have a baby first to get the whole milk thing going? Is she just faking out the new babies since they don’t know any better? I don’t get it. (And, to be clear, this is not an indictment of the Coseno family, pictured above. I wish them the best. I just don’t get the notion of old folks having children…whatever the reason). 

I am sure that the “older” women reading this will tell me how wrong I am about this matter but it just seems selfish to me. I know that people get bored once they turn 40 but that’s just not a good enough reason to pop out babies. If you must have a kid, just do like Madonna and buy one from somewhere. (They used to be listed on Craigslist but I guess that was technically illegal).

Or better yet, wait for your oldest kid to have a baby and then spoil your grandchild rotten. Be patient. In the meantime, get a dog or cat and that should hold you over. If you are still confused, try this test. Borrow someones baby and go to the mall. If people say, “My, you have a lovely grand daughter” you have failed the test. Time to shut down the baby factory.

(And by the way, no cheating on the test. Slathering yourself up with makeup and getting Botox is circumventing the system).

I say embrace your oldness. Not having babies doesn’t mean you can’t still be hot. Look at this photo of 60+ year old Helen Mirren:

I mean, yeah, it would be kind of gross to have sex with her considering her age, but… how could you not? So, please, no more baby talk for all of you quadragenarians (or higher) out there. If for no other reason, do it for the children.

56 Responses to Can Old(er) Women Please Stop Having Babies?

  1. luckygirl says:

    Tannerleah, how old are YOU? This response sounds typical of someone young, who has not quite experiences enough about life yet. Do you already have children at your tender age? Are you planning on children ? Everyone is entitled to make the choices they want for their ideal family… remarriage, kids later in life, grandmas having the baby for their daughter, whatever it may be. Before you start to comment on this choice, let’s take a look at what you are choosing for your life.. I bet someone out there might have some criticism on your choices… How would you comment to that?
    Making a family is important to everyone… Life choices come in the way of career, family, children, dealing with obstacles, and daily life crisis… we all do the best we can with the life that we are given.. Before you comment negatively on someone else, look at your life and be grateful for what you have.

    • violet says:

      sounds like you no nothing at all abwt life the first lesson u shld learn is u’ll never know every thing abwt life OLD WOMEN our chance to have children finishes at 35 or were just running a huge risk to the baby do u care abwt ur life or the baby’s i feel sorry for kids tht have old mothers tht hav no patience im sorry but this is time for grand children or adopt if u really want one dont run tht huge risk of have another down syndrome child its not fair on ne 1 think smart dont be DUM!

      • Darla Brimhall says:

        I do not know what yals problem is with older women having babies, if they want a child and they can get pregnant it is their right just like anyone else, If God was not on board with it then he would not let it happen, it happen for a reason. are you young girls and guys just jealous or what because they still have the right stuff LOL. If a guy that is old can get a women pregnant and no one says anything about it, then the older women have the same rights as he does to have a child at a older age, so yal just need to get a life and stop worrying about what they do. Stick your nose up your own rear end and not theirs or anyone elses. Grow Up!

        • Frankie says:

          First off the leaps we’ve made in medicine to minimise risks of having babies with chromosomal defects (such as freezing ovum during younger years) allows women of older age to have children safely.

          Secondly, most women nowadays are very career orientated just because a woman was ambitious enough to educate herself thus sacrificing her ‘fertile” years getting Bachelor, Master and Doctorate Degrees or/and as well as climbing the career ladder doesnt mean she should not be allowed to have a child later on.

          I think its naive of you to come up with such an argument, my argument would be more in the direction of younger women especially teens and early 20s women having kids because most of them are financially and socially incapable of caring for their kids.

          Women of any age are allowed to have children if they so wish they know the risks and if they decide to its on them, quit this attitude of thinking you have the right to judge these women.

          And if you’re being all christian about it, go read the bible John especially, the bit about he who does not eateth shalt not judge he who does eateth meaning its up to them and GOD .. not you. get off your high horse you clearly dont deserve to be on it anyway.

      • MoA says:

        I had a baby at 42 evenmy stupid doctor said oh she gonna have down syndrom. or other genetic problems. well I know a 27 year old who baby was born with problems My baby thank GOD in a healthy 16 mo/old. And I delivered natually no complications at all. So Violet if you don’t want a baby if or when your older mind your own fertility buissness and stay out of others. And your the one dumb God did not give you the right to tell older women not to have babies. Oh and by the way I’m a nurse I have seen young people have heart attacks, strokes, you can not label anyone with anycondition because of age.

        • MoA says:

          Jesus is God right? So He is on board and if you read the Bible you would know that he Blessed Sara, Abrahams wife to have his son Isac. And Sara was 99y/o. He also bless Elizabeth to carry and give birth to John The Baptist. You should not even mention Jesus when you are trying to take autority of life out his hand and come to your own conclusion of who should and should not have a baby based only on age. Would it be right for me to say you should not have any babies because of Narrow Finite Mind.

          • tannerleah says:

            No Jesus is not God. Jesus is Jesus. And what does this have to do with anything? Don’t use Jesus as your excuse for poor decision making. Also, if you really believe that a 99 year old had a healthy baby, well, this conversation is really headed towards a dead end quickly. If you want to be selfish, fine. Don’t try to justify YOUR decision making through religion.

  2. tannerleah says:

    luckygirl – as I have mentioned in several other posts, physically, I am an old man. The problem is, mentally, I operate at about a 9th grade level. I won’t lie…this can be a bit of a problem at times.

    My problem with older women having children is that they seem to do it because they are either bored or selfish. They love themselves more than the child. Why else would you take such a risk of having a child with Down syndrome? The odds rise from 1 in 759 at age 30 to 1 in 302 at age 35, 1 in 82 at age 40.

    I realize everyone is enamored with Sarah Palin’s child Trig but I wonder what Trig thinks about it? After all, he will be the one carrying the true burden for the rest of his life. He is not some cute little puppy.

    So, while I appreciate that everyone with a set of ovaries feels they have the right to pop out as many babies as they want, whenever they want, maybe they should consider the consequences of their actions and worry a little more about the baby than themselves.

    As for my life, it is a complete trainwreck and I am usually hopped up on pills most days.

  3. Denise says:

    Don’t be stupid!

  4. tannerleah says:

    Yeah Luckygirl…what Denise said!

  5. laira says:

    You are an immature, mean, insensitive, stupid, creep.
    You annoy me.

    • tannerleah says:

      Laira – I would say your description of me is pretty accurate.

      Having trouble in the baby area, eh? Well, I hope it works out for you.

  6. elizabeth3hersh says:

    Here is a view by a by a health care professional: we are mostly all on board for libertarian style freedom of choice, but not at the expense of society at large (and yes, I mean monetary expense). We have a health care and economic crisis in America. These high risk babies often end up costing a small fortune and it is not the parents picking up the tab…it’s all of us pooling our limited resources. And then there are the societal costs associated with high risk babies. I think Tannerleah nailed it albeit in a sardonic fashion. Perhaps we should all take our cues from Mother Nature.

  7. warriorwoman73 says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with your post – you nailed it!

  8. Kellar1008 says:

    In most cases I would agree with you about alot of older weman having children. I am 24 years old and I have a 6 year old sister. I was the youngest until she was born. I love my little sister to death, but I am usually sad to think about how my mother may not be around to even see her graduate. But in this woman’s case, she was having these children for her YOUNGER daughter. I mean, it didn’t matter to her if she will be around to see them be adaults, though most likly she will be. These are not HER children, they are her GRANDCHILDREN.

  9. Kellar1008 says:

    I admit, it is kinda creepy. But she did it for a good cause. If it were me, I would have found another surregate, but it was their choice. It would have been a better choice to find someone younger so that there would not be any underlying issues of birth defects. I agree with you there. But I guess she wanted someone she already knew she could trust to carry her babies.

  10. Elynn says:

    All babies are born from selfishness. Who ever gets pregnant because it is in the best interest of the as yet non-existent baby? If people thought too much about having babies then humans would cease to exist. Even people who spend lots of time planning and making what they think is a perfect environment for a baby are being selfish in having one. Otherwise everyone would just adopt. There is apparently a biological drive to spread one’s own genes. There is a time for women to stop having children and that is when nature puts them through menopause.

    • tannerleah says:

      Elynn – Really? People should keep popping out babies until menopause? This, in spite of the clear health risks to the baby as the potential mother ages? That is ridiculous.

  11. Kellar1008 says:

    I agree with you tannerleah, Menopause can start as early as 30 and can also come as late as 60, I mean come one. We are just saying that at a certian age, women are putting the child at more of a risk of having a birth defect, and in a case like that, they have become selfish. It is not selfish to have a baby when you are younger. Sure we live in a horrible world, but we will never see it become any better if there are no more of us around to try to make it a better world. I know, I know that sounds kinda corny. In my opinion, alot of people shouldn’t have kids, but that really isn’t up to us, now is it. Accidents happen, but at these women’s ages, they are getting put on meds to restart their baby making parts so that they can have children, knowing the risks.

  12. vikk says:

    First of all, its really not your choice whether you like it or not :) old women are gonna keep havings babies

  13. Kellar1008 says:

    We know that we will never be able to stop women from having babies, that is not what this discussion is about, it is just our opinions on the subject. While I do not always agree with the things tannerleah is saying, it is our opinion that after a certain age women should not have babies, and we are intitaled to our opinions. Just like you are. We are on here having a discussion, and if you can’t deal with others peple’s opinions than maybe you should think seriously about posting next time. By all mean, say your peace, but just remember that no matter what you say, it is very unlikely that your opinion is going to change someone else’s. I am not trying to mean.
    Now tannerleah, please explain to those of us who are not firmilar with that term what “Logan’s Run Law means.

    • tannerleah says:

      Logan’s Run was a book and movie in which people were scheduled to die at the age of 21. Now, I think that is a little harsh and would change the age to 40. But let’s be honest…us old people generally do more harm than good. We need to step out of the way.

      And thanks for having my back. I need all the help I can get.

  14. Kellar1008 says:

    No, some of the best doctors and other people are over 40. I don’t think that would be good. Lol, I couldn’t agree to that. I think alot of people over 40 do alot of good in this world. Hmm, I may have to read that book. If you want a goor book to read, try the Giver. That will really make you think.

  15. luvlygirl says:

    i cant understand why older women having babies its kinda creepy i think.

  16. Boontsch says:

    I agree 100%! I’m 36 and there is definitely a fork in the road right around my age. Sometimes, we have to pass up things completely to enjoy everything else in life! I will never have a kid because I can’t choose to travel, have a great career, and enjoy my freedom + have a kid. I can either have one or the other! None of us can have everything. We have to be adults and make choices…

  17. LA says:

    I think that only educated intelligent people should have children. Our world is over run with idiot men and woman popping out kids right and left yet live in a dump…
    I live in LA which is more like a 3rd world city in Mexico.. it’s gross! i am 39 and am not having children because I think there are too many and this world is being destroyed…

    • tannerleah says:

      Amen sister. I read that 6 million people will die from tobacco use this year. Maybe if we could get more stupid people to smoke…

    • warriorwoman73 says:

      EXACTLY. We are already overpopulated to the 9th degree. I look at my choice not to have children as a huge contribution toward saving the planet.

  18. Alikat says:

    I was 41 when I gave birth to my son. I did not think I would ever be able to have a child even though I had tried for years and then one day, I was pregnant! He is the most wonderful little person in the world and I would not change my decision to keep him for anything…I suppose you think I should’ve had an abortion? You are insensitive and not all women are just selfish.

    • tannerleah says:

      No, I don’t think you should have had an abortion. But to say you were not being selfish by taking on the risks of being pregnant at 41 is not being honest. You felt it was worth it. I say, from the childs perspective, it was not.

      I am insensitive but that has nothing to do with this conversation.

    • warriorwoman73 says:

      You are personalizing. This post was general – not about you in particular.

    • Kellar1008 says:

      We are not saying you should have had an abortion. I have a child and I know the joy of being a mother. In your case, you are saying it was an accident. I think what tannerleah is trying to say is that, at a certain age, people should start thinking about the fact that a mother of 40 and older are putting that child in extreme risk of having all sorts of different birth defects. So when he says you were being selfish, it was more along the lines of you should have been more careful to make sure it never happened in the first place. I congratulate you on your child, and hope that he is healthy, but that fact of the matter is that there are millions of children out there that were not that lucky.
      There are millions of women out there that are waiting until they are older for various reasons such as they wanted a career first or they just never had the time. They found out that they could not have children and decided last minute that they were going to use science to make them a baby, etc… They wait until their body tells them “your time is coming and that’s that” before they say, “oh my gosh I have to have one now, or I may never have one.” Well guess what, they should have thought about that earlier. There are so many children who need a home, why not give it to them instead of risking your child being born with a birth defect.

  19. Kathy says:

    Hi. As a health professional, I completely agree with the earlier post about the expense of older mothers.The ones in the pic are definitely costing some big bucks, as they are premature.

    As a side note, the mom/granny duo are doing what is called ‘kangaroo care’, which is skin to skin contact with preemies, and it helps them regulate temp and help with bonding.

  20. Sue says:

    Wtf are you talking about, you ingnorant little twit.

    • Kellar1008 says:

      Who is it you are talking to Sue?

      • tannerleah says:

        Yeah, Sue, you ignorant little twit, who exactly are you talking to? (Please don’t say me).

        • Anonymous says:

          tennerleah. just stop talking. you’re very annoying. I’m not one to read blogs, and I just happened upon your page because of the photo of helen mirren in google images. But, honestly? just be quiet! get off your high horse, don’t talk about things that you don’t understand, and it’s ignorant comments like yours, and ignorant people like you who keep a society static and prevent any form of change. Seriously? just stop. and don’t worry, I’m NOT even twenty yet, but I know enough to respect people

          • tannerleah says:

            Mommy issues, eh? Look, don’t compare your 70 year old mom to Helen Mirren. Helen is smoking hot and my guess is that most other women that old are not.

            As to a “static society”, what’s the problem? Progress is so over rated. My pool boy/ servant Paco, who has his papers, loves things just the way they are. Stop being so negative and disgruntled.

  21. ilianna says:

    i read your crap about older women having babies. it seems that, to you, it’s all a matter of how sexy they are or aren’t. do you feel the same about old geezer guys having kids? would jesus be on board with that? i bet you wdnt get bent out of shape if a 65 year old man had a baby with a 25 yr old babe. i bet you’d want to be just like him. a bit sexist arent you, dummy? why cant twit boys like you just shut up and drink your beer? you are not half as smart as you think you are, so STOP ANNOYING ME.

    • tannerleah says:

      ilianna, thank you for the thoughtful response. Knowing Jesus, as I do, I can say without hesitation that he supports old dudes having children. That’s why men can impregnate women until, pretty much, they die. You didn’t think that was an accident, did you?

      I like to think of myself as more of a misogynist than a sexist but you are probably on the right path.

  22. TexasGal says:

    I happen to agree with you. I am 36 this year and seeing classmates have their FIRST child all the time now. I don’t understand it. Sure, I got popped early in life by accident and now my daughter is 18… perhaps not the most well-advised choice, but then I was just a kid. To think that someone who is old enough to know better is going to deliberately put off childbearing until mid-thirties and forties – as most of my classmates have – IS a selfish thing. Furthermore, people of that age do NOT make the best parents. Generalizing here, they are far too lenient and spoil their children materially – which is resulting in ever-more spoiled and entitled generations. Young parents are generally more impatient and broke – raising a generation who don’t think the world revolves around them.

    I say, have babies when your body is at its prime: in your early 20s. You are young enough to stop them from growing up into little assholes, young enough to meet your grandchildren, and when they are adults, you still have enough juice in you to live a full and rewarding life… not looking at photos of your first grandchild from the hospital on a respirator.

    /rant

  23. janiegreville says:

    Haven’t read all the comments, but I would just like to suggest: women should feel entirely comfortable to have children throughout the phase of their lives in which they are ABLE to conceive naturally, without ‘medical intervention’. I’m not saying that medical interventions of a minimal kind should not be available for younger women, but women over 40 should generally accept that if they don’t conceive naturally, then nature is telling them something – they are not fit, physically, to bear children anymore.

    Having said this, I can afford to feel a bit guilty for saying this. I had children when I was quite young and (so?) my children are unutterably beautiful and bright as buttons. Easy, in other words, for me to talk, I’m not affected by my words since I already have my gorgeous brood.

    Nevertheless, I got divorced a few years ago and were I to meet ‘MR Right’ anytime soon I know that part of me would crave to fall pregnant once more.. But the kids I have are already 18 and 20 so it would be strange for them and it would be an embarrassment for the new kid if I did fall pregnant and have a kid.

    Though a good friend of my mum’s was a ‘late pregnancy’ of a woman well into her 40′s and she is 100% fine in every way. Moreover, her mum was still going on skiing trips in her eighties so – Annika had her mum alive and kicking in a wholly alert manner until she herself was well over 40.

    So perhaps the blather about older mums is just that: so much drivel.

  24. Jenell says:

    You sound ignorant and unintelligent. Please do not contaminate the gene pool.

  25. ali says:

    i am happy for thm and you are puotyfol

  26. Colin says:

    This concerns to whoever wrote this blog:
    My name is Colin
    I am the brother of the triplets, son of Kim, and Grandson of Jaci.
    YOU are RUDE for writing this post and kinda look like an ASS.
    My Grandmother is one of the nicest ladies I have ever met. It wasn’t gross that she carried my sisters for my mom, it was awesome. My mom couldn’t have anymore kids after having me…. Sorry for being born, jerk.
    I am more then thrilled about the triplets being in my life. If you met them you would slap yourself in the face for writing this post…. seeing them grow from being oh so tiny, to crawling, walking, running, and now 4 years old.

    So please next time keep your thoughts to yourself, and learn the facts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

